Time Stands Still - Pigeon Forge Cabin

Enjoy Mountains Views, Hot Tub, Firepit And A Private Theater Experience!
Pigeon Forge, TN, US
4.5 (46 Reviews)
Cabin
Sleeps 8
3 Bedrooms
3.5 Baths
No Pets
You won’t be charged yet.

The Cabin

  • Property type: Cabin
  • Sleeps: 8
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 3.5
  • Smoking: Non-smoking
  • Beds: King: 2, Bunk: 1
  • Check In Time: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out Time: 10:00 AM
  • Min Renter Age: 21+
  • No Pets

Description

Located just 5 minutes from Gatlinburg's Arts and Crafts Community, this luxury three bedroom cabin offers the best features for your group to have a memorable stay in the Great Smoky Mountains. Luxury, views and activities! After a long day of hiking or shopping relax in your 101 degree hot tub or sit in a porch rocker and enjoy the views of the Great Smoky Mountains. Gather as a group and watch a movie on your 9 foot theater screen. Or shoot a game of pool in the game area.

Prepare in cabin meals with your fully equipped kitchen, dining area and gas grill. A washer and dryer and free WIFI are included with this cabin.

Bedroom and Sleeping Arrangements:

Middle Level - Bedroom 1: King Bed - Sleeps 2

Lower Level - Bedroom 2: King Bed - Sleeps 2

Upper Level - Bedroom 3: Queen Bunk - Sleeps 4

Amenities

  • DVD Player
  • Cable Satellite
  • Air Conditioning
  • Washer Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet Access
  • Dishwasher
  • Fitness Center
  • Nearby Grocery
  • Mountain View
  • Grill
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Firepit
  • Near Dollywood

Location

Note: Travel times may vary based on season and area occupancy.

Availability

Host
Policies

Host Cancellation Policy

If you cancel your reservation 15 or more days prior to your arrival date a voucher for a future stay will be issued by host in the amount of the deposit less the reservation fee for use for a future stay within 365 days of the date of cancellation. If you cancel your reservation 14 days or less prior to arrival you will be responsible for the full reservation amount (you will forfeit the full deposit amount and the non-refundable reservation fee, and shall be responsible for the remaining rent amount and all other applicable charges associated with the reservation). Only the Guest named on the Agreement may cancel a reservation and cancellations must be made by phone call to Hosts Office.

Plans can be changed before 14 days prior to the scheduled check in with no penalty. No changes are permitted within 14 days of check in.

SmokyMountains.com Service Fee Cancellation Policy

If you choose to cancel or not use your reservation, the SmokyMountains.com Service Fee is always non-refundable.

Traveler Reviews

46 Reviews
4.5 out of 5
Summary
5
66%
4
24%
3
7%
2
5%
1
0%
Jeff B.
Destrehan, LA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed December, 2020

Best Thanksgiving Ever

We thoroughly enjoyed staying thanksgiving week in Time Stands Still. The cabin is in a great location - secluded yet close to everything. The views are great off the back porch and we loved spending evenings by the fire pit.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (December 17, 2020):

Thank you for sharing your 5-star experience with us, Jeff! It sounds like you chose the perfect cabin to relax in and enjoy some time away for the holiday. We hope you will make plans to stay with us again in the near future. Remember as repeat visitors you will enjoy 10% off your next booking. Hurry back, new memories are waiting to be made!

Brighton, MI
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
3 out of 5
Reviewed July, 2020

Quick Getaway

The cabin looked nice and was very spacious. Views were nice and it was very secluded.On arrival we were informed the hot tub wasn't going to be working during our stay, but they would offer us a refund for our inconvenience.The unit didn't seem very clean, we went through and wiped everything down.Kids really enjoyed the game room, which provided a lot of entertainment for them.

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (July 27, 2020):

Thank you, Michael, for reviewing your recent stay. We regret you didn't get to enjoy the hot tub during your getaway. As you mentioned we did offer a refund for the inconvenience. We strive to have cleanest cabins and it is disappointing that you felt you didn't receive that. We do provide 24/7 guest care assistance if any issues arises we can remedy quickly. We appreciate your feedback and hope you enjoyed your time in our area. Thank you.

Ashley R.
Yorktown, IN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed October, 2018

Time Stands Still

Upon arriving, it was very difficult to find. It's kinda out in the middle of no where. The cabin itself was gorgeous. Especially the downstairs. It was not the cleanest and the cable was out. We spent a lot of time cleaning the whole cabin, cobwebs, dead bugs on the floor, laundry machines were full of lint and pieces of the last guest stuff as well as detergent all over them. The countertops were filthy as were the toilets.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (October 15, 2018):

We appreciate your business and your honest review, Ashley. It is regrettable that this cabin was not the perfect cabin for your and your party. We are sorry if your visit was anything less than spectacular. I do show that you spoke with our management team and they have compensated you and resolved these issues with you. Please know that this is not indicative of a typical stay with us, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to show you a true 5-star visit. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Lexington, SC
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed December, 2018

Great place to stay

We had a wonderful time at Time Stands Still. The cabin is very beautiful, very well maintained and clean and the view was amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed the game/movie room as well.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (December 12, 2018):

Thank you for your wonderful review, Audrey! We are happy to hear your stay was exceptional. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Please keep in mind, as a returning guest you will enjoy 10% off all future stays. Hurry back, new memories are waiting to be made!

Newburgh, IN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed June, 2018

Good cabin with few exceptions

We had a good stay in this Cabin. It is very nicely layed out, with decent view of the mountains. Nice amenities. We enjoyed all the facilities. Found some cockroaches and bugs in the 2nd floor bed room on the 3rd night we were there, so we could not use it after that. Main level TV had some connection issues that were fixed by maintenance, but it occurred again the next day. Management was very responsive. Exact location is less than 1/4th mile ahead of where Google asks you to stop.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (June 14, 2018):

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, Vishal. We appreciate your feedback. Each of our cabins are professionally treated by our local pest control company. After receiving your review, we sent the technician out to treat the cabin. He did not find any cockroaches in the cabin. Cockroaches are usually found near a food or water source, not usually in just one bedroom. It may have been a wood roach, rather than a cockroach. While cockroaches are usually seen in groups, wood roaches are individual. They live in the wooded areas and can sneak into the cabins and homes from time to time. The cabin has been treated again to ensure our guest's comfort. We are happy to see the issue with the TV was taken care of quickly. Google Maps is not always accurate in our area, as you saw first hand. For this reason, we recommend following the directions we send out for the individual cabin. These are tested by us and are the easiest, most accurate directions available. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you discover any issues such as this in the future. We provide 24/7 guest assistance to ensure any need that arises can be handled quickly. Please don't suffer, call us. We love assisting our guests! We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience experienced and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Anthony M.
River Ridge, LA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed January, 2021

Great Accommodations!

Great experience. Beautiful Cabin! Abundant views of mountains, trees and wildlife.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (January 07, 2021):

It is delightful that you enjoyed your recent cabin stay! We enjoyed having you and hope you will make plans to stay with Elk Springs again on your next trip to The Great Smoky Mountains.

Kathy S.
Evansville, IN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed March, 2020

Great Stay!

Travels with our adult daughters and their friends. Cabin was awesome and clean. Great views. We utilized the outdoor fire area for s’mores one night. Plenty of room for 6.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (March 27, 2020):

As always, we love hearing about great family experiences with our rental company!  It sounds like you chose the perfect cabin for everyone to relax in, have fun, and create memories that will last a lifetime.  It would be a pleasure to serve you again in the future.  We encourage guests to book direct and save up to 15% on your booking.  

Bettendorf , IA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
3 out of 5
Reviewed March, 2019

Nice getaway

We stayed in Time Stands Still. Overall it was good. Tons of space. The kids loved the foosball table and hot tub. Some carpet was worn in some places. I felt the beds were uncomfortable. There were several dead wasps on the floor by the fireplace when we arrived. I reached out and was told someone would come spray. The next day they called and said someone sprayed right before we came so no one would be out. Throughout the stay there were several wasps flying around still, it’s a good thing we aren’t allergic. Also there waa a dart board but the darts were all broken. Couldn’t figure out the alarm system. When I asked I was told there’s directions by it. I ended up searching YouTube. But the “stay” mode was crossed out and I was unsure why. Never did figure out how to use it. Written instructions would have been nice. We spent the majority of our days out and about anyway so not much time in the cabin. But nice views.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (March 16, 2019):

We appreciate your kind review, Erin. Time Stands still is definitely a beautiful cabin full of fun games and amenities for everyone to enjoy throughout their visit. We appreciate your feedback regarding the beds, wasps and alarm system. I do show that the cabin recently had its monthly treatment. This will sometimes leave dead insects about. We are very sorry if this inconvenienced your stay, however, please keep in mind, in the mountains, it is nearly impossible to completely eradicate them. I have reported your concerns regarding the beds and the alarm system to the proper departments to be addressed. We hope you will choose to visit with us again on your next trip to The Great Smoky Mountains. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Brecksville, OH
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed May, 2019

Private luxury cabin

Loved it! Looking forward to staying again. Very private. Beautiful views.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (May 30, 2019):

Thank you for your wonderful 5 Star review, Beth! We are delighted to hear your stay was exceptional. We enjoyed having you as our guest and would consider it an honor for you to stay with us again in the future. Remember, as a repeat visitor you will save 10% on future stays. Thank you!

Youngsville, LA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
3 out of 5
Reviewed December, 2020

Okay stay

Pots still had food in them, the big window in the living room leaks, the butane bottle wasn’t full on the BBQ pit so when the power went out we had no way to cook food. The cabin was nice but the cleanliness of the cabin wasn’t something to brag about

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (December 31, 2020):

Megan, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It is regrettable to hear of any cleanliness issues during your time with us. We strive to have most clean cabins in all the area and want nothing but for our guests to feel as if they have a home away from home. We will certainly have a technician inspect that window and repair. We do apologize the tank was not full for the grill. We do replace the tank upon requests if it runs out. We hope you were able to enjoy your time in our area and hope this trip did not deter you from visiting us again. Thank you!