Hilltop Haven - Gatlinburg Cabin

This 4 Bedroom Pool Cabin Built In 2017 Will Amaze You!
Gatlinburg, TN, US
4.5 (8 Reviews)
Cabin
Sleeps 12
4 Bedrooms
4.5 Baths
No Pets
You won’t be charged yet.

The Cabin

  • Property type: Cabin
  • Sleeps: 12
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 4.5
  • Smoking: Non-smoking
  • Beds: King: 4, Sofa Bed: 2
  • Check In Time: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out Time: 10:00 AM
  • Min Renter Age: 25+
  • No Pets

Description

If you are looking for the perfect Gatlinburg Cabin Rental to escape the everyday stress of home or the office, you have found it in “Hilltop Haven”. With its wooded mountain setting in the pristine Laurel Estates at the Glades Resort, this cabin gives you the feeling of total seclusion, although you are right around the corner from downtown Gatlinburg and just miles from the attractions of Pigeon Forge. This luxury cabin offers an indoor pool and a spacious 12 person surround sound theater room. The interior of this newly built 4 bedroom cabin is sure to impress as it features modern-style furnishings, and a game room including an multi arcade game, pool table, and air hockey or foosball. Each bedroom suite includes a king bed, cable television with DVD players, and all brand new furniture. The great room features a double-sided stone fireplace with views from the great room and deck, a sleeper sofa, large flat screen TV with DVD player, and high vaulted ceilings with a spectacular rear window wall. You will definitely enjoy the fully equipped premium kitchen that has all granite countertops and a breakfast bar. The mountain element inspired cabinetry will absolutely amaze the cooks in the family! If you’re not much of a cook then that is just fine! Relax in the hot tub or the outdoor sauna. Either way… Do not pass this cabin up!!!

While the firestorms of 2016 were utterly heartbreaking, we are pleased to announce that the mountains are green again and reconstruction throughout the Gatlinburg area is in full swing. We appreciate your patience and continued financial support to our local economy during our temporary construction phase.

Amenities

  • Private Pool
  • Washer Dryer
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Theater Room
  • DVD Player
  • Grill
  • Hot Tub
  • Cable Satellite
  • Nearby Grocery

Availability

Host
Cancellation Policy

60 days prior to arrival a refund by Host is available with a 10% cancellation fee. Host does not under any circumstances provide refunds for cancellations requested within 60 days of reservation arrival date.

Traveler Reviews

8 Reviews
4.5 out of 5
Summary
5
63%
4
38%
3
0%
2
0%
1
0%
Flat Rock, AL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed November, 2018

Family Vacation

Cabin was extremely clean, beautifully decorated and SPACIOUS for our multi-generation family vacation. Not being familiar with Dish Network we were surprised that we could not watch our SEC games since the SEC Network was not available. No Wifi at this cabin and Mobile Hotspot is slow so don't plan to do any shopping and just easier to call in the pizza order than do it online. Kids loved the pool, guys loved the theater room (even if they couldn't watch their favorite team) and the ladies loved doing nothing at all!! Our 4 nights were just too short - wish we had booked another day or two!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (November 26, 2018):

So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. Your feedback is vital to our future success as we learn so much from our guests that allows us to continue providing excellent customer service. We so sorry that the wi fi is not what you expected and is a lot slower here in the mountains. We hope to see you back again soon!

Geneva, IL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed May, 2018

Beautiful house with all the bells and whistles

We loved our time at the Hilltop Haven. The location was beautiful and the house had everything you could ever want on a vacation. We loved going in to town (just a short drive), visiting the Smokey Mountain National Park, and going to see one of Dolly's shows. The only challenges we had were disarming he security system for the pool, and the DVD player in the movie room didn't work. We would definitely visit this location again!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (June 04, 2018):

So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. We apologize for the issues with the pool alarm and DVD player. Your feedback is vital to our future success as we learn so much from our guests that allows us to continue providing excellent customer service. We hope to see you back again soon!

Springfield, MO
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed April, 2018

Great place, very clean, except maybe the hot tub?

We had a great time here! The cabin was very new and clean. We had a few issues....the fireplace didn't work and we could only get one DVD player to work. We loved having the pool and hot tub but everyone that used it came back with swimmers ear. That was a horrible (and expensive)way to end the trip:/ something was definitely wrong with the chemicals or something because 5/7 kids had it and the the others never used it. Also the construction was loud in the mornings but at least they waited until 9:00:)

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (April 04, 2018):

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the cabin. These reviews are very important to us as they allow us to know where we succeed and where we may make improvements. We are glad that you enjoyed the cabin but sorry to hear that the children got swimmer's ear. You comments that something may be wrong with the chemicals caused us concern so we investigated what causes swimmer's ears so that we may evaluate if and/or how we may help avoid similar situations in the future. According the American Academy of Otolaryngology Swimmer's ear is typically due to water getting trapped in the ear. It can also affect those with excessive ear wax or eczema. There is no mention of pool chemicals being a cause for swimmer's ear. The pools are maintained by a professional pool management service between guest stays. The AAO says, "A common source of the infection is increased moisture trapped in the ear canal, from baths, showers, swimming, or moist environments. When water is trapped in the ear canal, bacteria that normally inhabit the skin and ear canal multiply, causing infection of the ear canal." It appears that the children were enjoying the pool and simply got water trapped in their ears. We are sorry that the vacation ended the way it did. The AAO makes the following suggestions to avoid swimmer's ear in the future, is important to keep the ears free of moisture during swimming or bathing, Use ear plugs when swimming, Use a dry towel or hair dryer to dry your ears." We hope that this information may be helpful in the future. We take cleaning and service very seriously and hope that you will enjoy your next visit to the fullest possible.

Chattanooga, TN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed February, 2018

Great trip with the kids!!

We had a great stay! We came with three couples and seven kids combined and this was a perfect spot! The home was brand new and very clean. The beds were comfortable and we had plenty of space. We had all the kitchen supplies we needed to cook some meals at home and enjoyed the central location for getting to gatlinburg and pigeon forge sights very easily. The kids loved the game room, movie room and indoor pool! The WiFi wasn’t set up when we were there so hopefully that will be up and running soon. The only thing i would note is that to get to ge movie room you have to go through the indoor pool (which has an alarm on the door- great safety feature) and there is nothing keeping the kids from going from the movie room to the indoor pool. This isn’t a big deal with older kids, but something to note if you have younger kids. We just had to make sure we had an adult sitting with them at all times if they were in the movie room. That was fine but we were kind of hoping we could relax in the evenings and let the kids watch a movie before bed. Like I said, not a negative really just something to note. The cabin was awesome and had everything we could have asked for. When we asked the kids what their favorite thing about our trip was they all said “the cabin, it was awesome!”

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (February 26, 2018):

So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. Your feedback is vital to our future success as we learn so much from our guests that allows us to continue providing excellent customer service. We hope to see you back again soon!

Erin W.
Union City, GA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed February, 2018

Better Than the Pictures

I scheduled a cabin getaway with a group of people last weekend and the cabin surpassed our expectations. The cabin was very clean and well maintained. There were adequate instructions and directions for how to get to the cabin and it was very close to the main strip in Gatlinburg. We took advantage of all the amenities that it had to offer (hot tub, sauna, theater room, game room, etc). We loved the open concept of the main floor and it was a great meeting place to eat as well as play games and talk. Everybody loved the cabin and agreed we will be coming back to this specific one again!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (February 01, 2018):

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Eden Crest. Our staff strive very hard to make our guests vacation experience the best that it can be. We always love to hear such great positive feedback. We look forward to having you come stay with us again.

Jessica L.
Milton, GA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed January, 2018

Fun get away, nice and new!

We had a wonderful stay! The management service was excellent and very responsive and organized. The house had everything we needed and was comfortable, clean and in perfect shape. I am very picky about cleanliness and liked how the furniture was leather and easily cleaned instead of sitting on upholstered furniture that hundreds of other people sat and spilled on. The game room and pool were awesome for our kids and we loved having the fireplaces to keep the house warm and cozy on cold nights.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (February 01, 2018):

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Eden Crest. Our staff strive very hard to make our guests vacation experience the best that it can be. We always love to hear such great positive feedback. We look forward to having you come stay with us again.

Bolivar, OH
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed January, 2018

Our 2017 Smokey Mountain Christmas!

It was really nice being new. And having all the amenities. Especially the swimming pool and game room and theater room. It did have a few things that needed work. The fireplace because it was new needed to be ran it was very smelly bad we couldn’t use it. And our heater did not work well. The main level floor ended up only getting to about 61 degrees in our last night stay. Which was very cold. But overall not bad. We did report the issues. Also it was hard to watch movies in movie room because of the sad cord

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (January 28, 2018):

We are sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We will share your feedback with our management team. Please know that we will work hard to correct these issues you have brought to our attention. We appreciate your continued support with Eden Crest and look forward to seeing you again!

Addison, AL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed January, 2018

Family getaway

Hilltop Haven was a beautiful cabin with great amenities. Everyone we talked with was very friendly. We loved the hot tub, sauna, pool table, and arcade. There were some problems however. The cabin was supposed to sleep 14. It only slept twelve. We immediately called and reported that the cabin was short a sleeper sofa but nothing was done about this. Two of our people had to sleep on the floor. We had a lot of trouble getting the pool heater to work and it’s alarm to shut off so we were unable to use it. The televisions had to constantly be reset. The DVD player broke a brand new dvd. The heat never worked properly. We were very cold on the main and upper floors. The layout of the cabin is very poorly arrangededigned. The noise from the arcade area was impossible. It would’ve been much better to have the arcade area in the downstairs with the pool and the 4th bedroom upstairs. We made do and overall it was a very nice stay. There was construction going on all around which was noisy. We realize this couldn’t be prevented but we would’ve liked to have been informed. They cut a tree down at 7:00 a.m. our first morning as were were adjusting to a change in time zone. We laughed it off. We are not upset but these are problems.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (January 24, 2018):

We are sorry that you had any issues during your stay. Our Vacation Planners should have made it clear to you that the cabin is brand new in a brand new resort. We are sorry to hear that the construction company was starting at such an early time. According to our records the maintenance requests that you made upon your arrival were immediately addressed. Our maintenance technician reset a circuit breaker for the heat and was able to show you how to take the hot tub out of sleep mode. Unfortunately it appears that you only mentioned the sleeping issue to our after hours call center and it was never relayed to us by them. We have addressed the issue with them and that individual is no longer with the company. We are sorry again for any issues you had and are confident that your next visit to the Smoky Mountains can be one that you fully enjoy.

Map