Urban Cowboy - Gatlinburg Cabin

Romantic Modern Cabin with Indoor Pool Spa and Amazing Mountain Views
Gatlinburg, TN, US
4.0 (155 Reviews)
Cabin
Sleeps 2
1 Bedrooms
2 Baths
WiFi
No Pets
Please wait while we confirm availability.
4 Nights x 399
$-.--
Host Fees
$-.--
Total Taxes
$-.--
Service Fees
$-.--
Total
$--.--
Total includes all fees and taxes

The Cabin

  • Property type: Cabin
  • Sleeps: 2
  • Bedrooms: 1
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Smoking: Non-smoking
  • Beds: King: 1
  • Check In Time: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out Time: 10:00 AM
  • Min Renter Age: 21+
  • No Pets Allowed

Description

*** The maximum occupancy for this cabin is 2 adults*** Look no further, the ultimate cabin awaits with an indoor pool that opens to the outside with amazing mountain views. Experience modern cabin luxury tucked away in the mountains. Features include a master king suite with spa bath including a rustic rain shower with pebble floor and massaging shower jets, spa air jetted tub with led lighting, pass thru fireplace and 55 inch TV. Relax in the tub while enjoying a warm fire and mountain views or retire with someone special in front of the romantic fireplace. Enjoy the heated indoor pool better open the glass garage door and bring the outdoors in while enjoying a view of the mountains through the 6 foot outdoor firepit. Rinse off in the adjoining pool shower or rest your muscles in the sauna room with room to stretch. Shoot a game of pool on the pool table or enjoy one of the 100 classic video games on the arcade include modern games such as Golden Tee. Admire the custom hand made zinc counter tops and farm sink and open modern kitchen in the great room with dining nook, couch to relax and oversized while enjoying incredible views through wall of windows. Free wireless internet, washer/dryer, iron and ironing board are all included for your convenience. Bedroom and Sleeping Arrangements: Upper Level - King Suite: King Bed - Sleeps 2

Amenities

  • Arcade Games
  • Cable Satellite
  • Carbon Monoxide Detector
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Central Air
  • Child Friendly
  • Code Lock
  • Coffee Maker
  • Convenience
  • Dining Area
  • Dishes Silverware
  • Dishwasher
  • Dvd Player
  • Emergency Info
  • Fire Extinguisher
  • Fireplace
  • First Aid Kit
  • Fitness Room
  • Flat Screen Tv
  • Game Room
  • Granite Counters
  • Grill
  • Grocery Delivery Available
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Ironing Board
  • Jacuzzi Tub
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchen Blender
  • Kitchen Cookware
  • Kitchen Toaster
  • Linens Provided
  • Massage Available
  • Microwave
  • Nearby Attractions
  • Nearby Grocery
  • Nearby Medical
  • No Pets
  • Non Smoking
  • Outdoor Entertainment
  • Outdoor Fireplace
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Oven
  • Parking Included
  • Patio Balcony
  • Pool Table
  • Private Deck
  • Rain Shower
  • Refrigerator
  • Resort Laundry
  • Sauna
  • Smoke Detector
  • Stove
  • Telephone
  • Television
  • Towels Linens
  • Washer Dryer
  • Wifi

Location

Note: Travel times may vary based on season and area occupancy.

Availability

Host
Policies

Host Cancellation Policy

If you cancel your reservation 15 or more days prior to your arrival date a voucher for a future stay will be issued by host in the amount of the deposit less the reservation fee for use for a future stay within 365 days of the date of cancellation. If you cancel your reservation 14 days or less prior to arrival you will be responsible for the full reservation amount (you will forfeit the full deposit amount and the non-refundable reservation fee, and shall be responsible for the remaining rent amount and all other applicable charges associated with the reservation). Only the Guest named on the Agreement may cancel a reservation and cancellations must be made by phone call to Hosts Office.

Plans can be changed before 14 days prior to the scheduled check in with no penalty. No changes are permitted within 14 days of check in.

SmokyMountains.com Service Fee Cancellation Policy

If you choose to cancel or not use your reservation, the SmokyMountains.com Service Fee is always non-refundable.

Traveler Reviews

155 Reviews
4.0 out of 5
Summary
5
59%
4
15%
3
16%
2
4%
1
9%
Charleston, IL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed June, 2016

Urban Cowboy Review

Making the decision to stay at Urban Cowboy is a decision we do not regret and we hope to someday return! The cabin was in the perfect location - close to everything but far enough away for privacy. Everything was extremely clean as well. Our only complaint was that the waterfall in the pool was not working. Other than that, we have so many great memories from our stay and plan to book with Elk Springs Resorts in the future!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (June 23, 2016):

Thank you for such a wonderful review, Lauren! We are excited to hear you had an exceptional stay. We certainly agree, the amenities at Urban Cowboy are top-notch. We are sorry to hear the waterfall was not working during your stay. We are happy to report the issue has been isolated and corrected, it is now fully functional. We hope you will consider returning to stay with us at Urban Cowboy in the future. Please keep in mind, as a returning guest you will enjoy 10% off all future stays. There are wonderful memories just waiting to be made!

Fayetteville, NC
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
2 out of 5
Reviewed April, 2016

Underwhelmed

Even though we were called early that our room was ready, there was a spider web in the kitchen, the waterfall waa not working by the pool and the sauna was not working. The day after we checked in we were given a call from the property managers and they were told about the issues we had. They proposed coming out to check the issues but we declined because we wanted to enjoy the local shops and crafts.

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (June 18, 2017):

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, George. We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve the quality of each stay. We are sorry to hear you experienced these issues. Each of our properties are checked prior to each arrival to ensure that all of the amenities are functioning as they are supposed to. Even with diligent preventative maintenance, issues can arise. We provide 24/7 guest assistance to ensure that any issues that arise can be handled quickly. We certainly understand that you come to Gatlinburg to enjoy the area and all it has to offer. We are happy to schedule maintenance at your convenience or while you are away from the cabin enjoying the area. We never require you to stick around and wait for our technicians to arrive. We want you to enjoy your vacation! We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience experienced and hope you will consider staying with us again during your next visit to Gatlinburg.

Rossville, GA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed September, 2016

Urban Cowboy

My husband and I stayed in this cabin for three days at the end of August 2016. It is a very adorable cabin that we thoroughly enjoyed. We have never stayed in a cabin before, but this has definitely set our standards High. It has so many amenities that you don't even need to go into town to be entertained. The only issues we had were that the fire pit outside tended to sputter and flicker on and off and if you plan to cook, be sure to bring some extra pots and pans because they are very minimal with what is provided (and extremely scratched up). Apparently the couple that had stayed prior to us had an issue with the television in the living room so it had a large line going through the picture butt the company reassured us that they were aware of it and we're in the process of buying a new one to replace the broken one. The only other problem we had was with the arcade console switch scrolls through the various games that it has and some of the demos have music that will play and it did tend to wake us up. When we turned it off at night to sleep, it would have rebooting issues in the morning and the company had to come reset it. The pool table and pool were amazing and we very much enjoyed them every single day and night. The cabin has a beautiful view of the mountains which could only be improved if they would trim a few trees that do tend to block the eye. The sauna was wonderful but be warned it does take a little while to heat up the very first time only. The upstairs bathroom has a great jacuzzi tub with jets, but as attractive as the ceiling drop fountain that fills it is, it takes almost 40 minutes to fill the tub lol. Overall it was an absolutely amazing stay and we would love to go there again.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (September 14, 2016):

Thank you for choosing to stay at Elk Springs Resort. We enjoyed having you as our guest. We are delighted to hear you had an amazing stay! You certainly chose the perfect cabin for your first cabin experience. Urban Cowboy will spoil you with a variety of top-notch amenities that put it in a class of it's own. We are sorry to hear you experienced these issues during your stay. We are currently working with an outside vendor to correct the issues with the outdoor fireplace and the video game. We have notified our housekeeping supervisor of the condition and quantity of pots and pans, thank you for bringing this to our attention. The kitchen will be restocked and any worn items will be removed and replaced. Please let us know during your stay should you find any items that are worn or need to be replaced. We welcome the opportunity to ensure that you have high quality cookware to use throughout your stay. You should never have to bring pots and pans on vacation while you are our guest. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience experienced during your stay due to these issues and hope you will continue to stay with us when you visit Gatlinburg. Please keep in mind, as a returning guest you will enjoy 10% off all future stays. We hope to see you soon!

Dustin C.
Columbus, GA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed February, 2016

Fun stay in gatlinburg

This cabin was very nice. We really enjoyed ourselves. The only one complaint is there was some hornets in the room. We killed about 5 the whole time we were there and there were still more flying around. Not sure where they were coming from but I believe there is a nest somewhere inside the cabin. We did not ever leave the door open so they had to be coming from inside. Other than that we have a wonderful time.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (February 05, 2017):

Dustin, we are very sorry for the nuisance hornets that decided to spend your vacation with you. Please don't ever hesitate to contact Customer Service so they can dispatch maintenance to assist you with any issues you are having. We welcome the opportunity to correct any issues to make your cabin getaway experience as stress free as possible. We hope you will consider a future stay with us here at Elk Springs Resort!

Mike O.
Quitman, MS
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed June, 2015

Romance at it's best!

This cabin is very unique. We loved the modern, industrial feel of the cabin. The amenities are the best! If you are looking for a romantic cabin, this one is it!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Jordan W.
Madison, MS
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed September, 2015

The Perfect Honeymoon Getaway

The Urban Cowboy at Elks Springs was absolutely amazing! The cabin was in a great location, only a few miles from town! The cabin was very clean, decorated and furnished perfectly. It really gives you the feel of being in the wilderness but is still modern. The staff at Elks Springs were all very kind and helpful. They take wonderful care of the cabins. All in all, it was an amazing experience and was the perfect choice for my honeymoon! We will definitely be coming back!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (September 23, 2015):

Thank you for the 5 star review Jordan and congratulations on your wedding! The Urban Cowboy cabin has been a very popular choice for many honeymooners and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. When you are ready to book your return visit, just mention that you have stayed with Elk Springs Resort before and you will receive a 10% discount. Perhaps you could make it an annual tradition to celebrate your wedding anniversaries with us.

Pam O.
Cleves, OH
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed February, 2016

Let's stay again

This is an amazing rental. We loved it. There were some things that could be addressed. This is a great property and if kept up will last and be able to be enjoyed over time. It would be nice to have some blinds as the property next store can see in with all the windows which are awesome. The garage door downstairs needs some attention it is very hard to opem and close. The fountain on the rock wall downstairs doesn't work I guess someone broke it. The sheets do not stay on the bed they are way too small. We fought the bed sheets every night. The sinks upstairs were running slow. Like I said this is a awesome. Please keep it up it will be well worth it.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (February 09, 2016):

Pam, thank you so much for staying with us and we really do appreciate the feedback. We are really thinking through the blinds issue because we don't want to diminish anyone's ability to enjoy the outdoors. We have added blinds to limit the neighbors view inside, but the view side is where we are weighing everyone's feedback. So far a couple have commented on the blinds but most have not had an issue with it. We're not saying you are wrong for sure, we're just trying to make the best decision for everyone. Thanks for noting the items you mentioned and sorry there were a few minor issues during your stay. We have made some adjustments to the garage door to make it easy to open and the waterfall is awaiting a brand new $600 fancy electric valve to turn it on and off for your enjoyment. We also have figured out the venting problem with the sinks and we have resolved that as well. It's great to hear guest feedback as we thought we had the sinks fixed previously. Its not something we would have found without someone staying in the cabin as it's intermittent. Again thank you so much for staying with us and thanks again for the feedback.

Rhonda R.
Hamilton, OH
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
3 out of 5
Reviewed October, 2016

Mixed Feelings

The outside of the cabin is very lackluster. The inside is very nice. Neatly decorated. Very cute. The "grotto" area needs attention. Still not sure if the jetted pool was supposed to be warm or not. And I would of like to have known before I shelled out close to $1k for 3 nights, that the fire pit is in need of repair. I wasn't made aware of that until I read the "welcome book." It was our anniversary get away, and I was looking for the ambiance of the pool with the fire pit. That didn't really happen. Owning a hot tub myself, I can also safely say that the pool needs to be shocked with de-foamer and cleaned better. The bed was very comfortable, as cabins go, but they do need better fitting sheets. The tub and shower are very nice. I didn't dislike the cabin, but I didn't love the cabin either.

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (February 23, 2017):

Thank you for your business and for your review of this property. We are sorry for the issues you reported. We did have maintenance go to the cabin upon your checkout and they said the fire pit was working. Guests just need to be careful about leaving the rocks on the cage to keep the wind and rain from causing the firepit to malfunction. The cabin has a small salt water pool, which is different from a hot tub, but still the same concept. It is cleaned between each guest and we do apologize if you felt it was not cleaned properly. The bed is a king size bed and we use king size sheets on it. The sheets don't get any larger than this, so I'm not sure why they aren't fitting the bed properly, but I will be sure to bring it to the attention of our housekeeping staff. For future reference, we welcome the opportunity to correct any issues during your stay, so please don't hesitate to contact us if you are having any problems. We want your stay to be as comfortable and stress free as possible. We hope you will consider a future stay with us, perhaps in a different cabin that exceeds all of your expectations!

Cary, NC
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
1 out of 5
Reviewed August, 2015

Dissapointing Honeymoon

Over priced and full of problems! The roof leaked water so badly that it completely drenched the pool table and the floor. When we called maintenance they told us to just put a bucket underneath it. Seriously? We were supposed to bring buckets on our honeymoon for roof leaks? The maintenance guy showed up finally and even said that they knew it leaked the whole time, but rented it to us anyways at an outrageous full price. Other issues: the sauna didn't work, the outside fire pit didn't work and the hot tub is not hot at all actually. The place is crammed right next to neighbors. We heard them all night. The jacuzzi tub came on by itself in the middle of the night. Too many high tech features with no instructions. We called management and they didn't seem to care about our problems or inconveniences. They wouldn't give us any discount or comps. In fact, I was insulted after reporting all these issues, then discussing them with management and asking for a discount. They declined but then I received an automated email saying the cabin is available for another night at a discounted rate. This was only because it wasn't booked, not due to our problems. Hahaha what a joke. I've been to Gatlinburg on 6 previous trips and this was by far the worst rental company to deal with. All the other ones had excellent customer service. I would rather stay in a dump with great customer service than here ever again. For the price we paid, they should have given us an extra night for free and even paid us to enjoy a nice romantic dinner somewhere for all the bs we put up with on our stay at the Urban Cowboy. We were looking forward to the perfect romantic honeymoon and were severely disappointed in what we got. We will not do business with this company again.

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (August 06, 2015):

Hi Bill, thank you for your comments about the cabin. The roof leak was repaired by a licensed roofer prior to your stay and yes, it was indeed leaking and we were aware of it but did have it serviced and fixed prior to your check in. The leak was isolated and small and the pool table was not damaged. We would not rent a cabin where we knew there was still a leaking roof problem. We are sorry that it started to leak again during your stay and because it was difficult to get them out there the day it rained for an hour on your trip we did provide a container to place under the leak on the pool table. We realize you were frustrated and certainly don't expect you to bring your own bucket. Finally, for future reference we have had the roofer to the property again to redo the entire roofing area where there was the leak and solve the problem. We thought we had it solved before your check in and again apologize. The outdoor fireplace is working and for our guests convenience we moved the fireplace switch off the fireplace and into the pool room to avoid any confusion as to how to turn it on. The sauna does work and is 100% operational. It appears you were using the time delay start feature on the sauna so that it would start after a specified amount of time. We have added some additional instructions to make the 2 dial operation of the sauna even more clear and we were happy that you called so we could dispatch our maintenance team to show you how to work the unit. Sorry for the water leak and issues you had operating these amenities. We're glad we were able to respond so quickly and help you solve the sauna and firepit issues and again we're sorry for the roof leak during your stay. We are happy to report that all are working.

Bruno C.
Sun Rise, FL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed December, 2015

Amazing Mountain Views plus ...

Even with two days of rain, plenty to do and enjoy in this cabin. Would certainly stay here again and soon I hope. Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge are definitely a plus!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (June 12, 2017):

Thank you for your kind words, Bruno! We do hope you will stay with us again during your next trip to Gatlinburg. Please take advantage of your 10% repeat guest discount at the time of your next booking.