Game Changer - Sevierville Cabin

Indoor Pool Cabin With Interactive Game Center, Outdoor Living, Putt Putt
Sevierville, TN, US
4.5 (13 Reviews)
Cabin
Sleeps 10
3 Bedrooms
3.5 Baths
WiFi
No Pets
You won’t be charged yet.

The Cabin

  • Property type: Cabin
  • Sleeps: 10
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 3.5
  • Smoking: Non-smoking
  • Beds: King: 3, Bunk: 2
  • Check In Time: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out Time: 10:00 AM
  • Min Renter Age: 21+
  • No Pets

Description

Game Changer has it all: Indoor Heated Pool, Virtual Gaming Center, Putt Putt golf course, outdoor living area, home theater room with 9 foot theater screen and tiered theater seating. If this cabin is available we suggest you book it as it won't stay open for long. 2 King suites and one kids bunk room with triple queen bunk (sleeps 6 kids) - all bedrooms have private full bath. Full kitchen and dining area for in cabin meals. Thanks for looking and we look forward to hosting you during your stay.

Bedroom and Sleeping Arrangements:

Upper Level - Bedroom 1: King Bed - Sleeps 2

Upper Level - Bedroom 2: King Bed - Sleeps 2

Middle Level - Bedroom 3: Triple Queen Bunk - Sleeps 6 (kids)

Amenities

  • DVD Player
  • Cable Satellite
  • Air Conditioning
  • Washer Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet Access
  • Dishwasher
  • Fitness Center
  • Nearby Grocery
  • Mountain View
  • Grill
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
  • Private Pool
  • Wifi
  • Heated Pool
  • Near Dollywood
  • No Pets

Location

Availability

Host
Policies

Host Cancellation Policy

If you cancel your reservation 15 or more days prior to your arrival date a voucher for a future stay will be issued by host in the amount of the deposit less the reservation fee for use for a future stay within 365 days of the date of cancellation. If you cancel your reservation 14 days or less prior to arrival you will be responsible for the full reservation amount (you will forfeit the full deposit amount and the non-refundable reservation fee, and shall be responsible for the remaining rent amount and all other applicable charges associated with the reservation). Only the Guest named on the Agreement may cancel a reservation and cancellations must be made by phone call to Hosts Office.

Plans can be changed before 14 days prior to the scheduled check in with no penalty. No changes are permitted within 14 days of check in.

SmokyMountains.com Service Fee Cancellation Policy

If you choose to cancel or not use your reservation, the SmokyMountains.com Service Fee is always non-refundable.

Traveler Reviews

13 Reviews
4.5 out of 5
Summary
5
74%
4
14%
3
0%
2
7%
1
7%
Brian D.
Morris, IL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed May, 2021

Gamechanger

Wonderful

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (May 11, 2021):

Brian, thank you for the 5 star review. It has been a pleasure serving you and your family. We hope to have you all back very soon!

Chesapeake, VA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
2 out of 5
Reviewed July, 2021

Need Cleaning

Not very clean. No one ever cleaned under the beds or sleeper sofa. Game system did not work & never got response to fix it. Elk Springs said it wasn't their responsibility and no one ever answered the provided number. I would think the mgt company would be responsible for all aspects. Won't rent again.

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (July 06, 2021):

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Lisa. Your review certainly concerns us, as nothing was reported during or after your stay. We have 24/7 guest assistance to ensure that any need that arises can be resolved quickly. The owner installed the virtual gaming system in your cabin and assumed responsibility for it. We are sure it was disappointing not to be able to utilize this amenity. All of the items reported in your review have been sent to our teams to be addressed. We hope that you were able to enjoy your time spent in our area.

Sandy H.
Na, NOTAVAIL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed October, 2021

Game changer

Loves the location the cabin was beautiful pictures on pool a little deceiving toiletries we expected to have something for start no shampoo no conditioner no nothing Keurig set there would be a few samples to get started with it was nothing small little things for customer service

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (October 02, 2021):

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Sandy. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in these aspects of your stay. These suggestions have been sent to the appropriate departments for review. We hope that you were able to enjoy your time spent in our beautiful area!

Harley R.
Springfield,
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed March, 2021

Harley reid

It was great would rent again

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (March 22, 2021):

Thank you for your kind review, Harley! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit. We encourage guests to book direct and save up to 15% on your booking.

Cedar Grove, WI
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed August, 2021

Amazing!

It was our first time staying at one of Elk Springs cabins and we will definitely book with them again. Cabin was amazing, clean, and had lots to keep our kids entertained. Definitely recommend booking this cabin!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (August 23, 2021):

Thank you for your wonderful recommendation, Stephanie! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. It sounds like you found your new home away from home while visiting our area. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Remember, as a repeat visitor you will save 10% on future stays. Thank you!

Jameka R.
Indianapolis, IN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed April, 2021

A True Game Changer

This is an amazing cabin. It has everything that is needed to satisfy families.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (April 12, 2021):

Jameka, thank you for the feedback. We are happy to hear that this cabin was so accommodating for you and your family. It has been a pleasure and we hope to have you back in the future!

Allen D.
Pike Road, AL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed August, 2021

Great visit

Everything was great

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (August 14, 2021):

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent cabin stay, Allen! We enjoyed having you and hope you will make plans to stay with Elk Springs again on your next trip to The Great Smoky Mountains. Remember, as a repeat visitor you will save 10% on future stays. Thank you!

Jeffrey L.
Denison, TX
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed June, 2021

Excellent

Excellent

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (June 28, 2021):

Jeffrey, thank you for such a fantastic review. It has been a pleasure and we hope to have you back soon!

Lisa M.
West Palm Beach, FL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
1 out of 5
Reviewed July, 2021

Game Changer let down

We rented the Game Changer cabin with another family for our annual vacation to the Gatlinburg area. We have never been disappointed in a cabin or resort until now. Our scheduled check in time was 3:00 pm, 15 minutes before that time I received an email from Elk Springs stating that check in would be delayed due to the cleaning crew not being done. We had already bought groceries so some of the members of our party took the to the cabin and dropped them off. We noticed how filthy the cabin was, but the two cleaners were there so we hoped it would be clean when we returned. We received another email at 4:45 stating that cabin was clean and ready. When we returned, the front door was open and the cabin was filthy!!!! The showers were dirty with hair still in the drains, toothpaste was still in the sink, the refrigerator was disgusting. It was sticky and had dirt and dead bugs in it. Some of the beds were not made and others had dirty sheets on them. There were long black hair all throughout the cabin and there were food and drink stains on the tables where they weren’t wiped down. We immediately called and were told that the situation would be fixed and house keeping would soon return. We left for dinner and when we returned at 9:00 pm, no one had been there at all. If fact no one came to clean at all. We have pictures to document all of this. We asked for 50% back since we had to clean our own cabin. They only gave us 1 night back and still charged us 129.00 cleaning fee!!! We tried to contact the owner of the cabin, but got no response. This was by far the most expensive cabin that we have rented, and it was the newest, but it was the most disgusting and biggest let down. Rent with Elk Springs at your own risk!!!! Also the kitchen did not even have the basics like salt and pepper.

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (July 17, 2021):

We apologize that you were disappointed in these aspects of your stay. We are sure that you will agree that our staff worked relentlessly to resolve any items so that you could enjoy your stay. As you noted, we did refund you a night back; we are sorry that you do not feel that this was adequate, but we normally do not refund for these issues per your reservation agreement. These items that you reported will be sent to the appropriate departments for review. We hope that you were able to enjoy your time spent in our beautiful area.

Channahon, IL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed May, 2021

We loved the Game Changer!

My family had absolutely the most enjoyable time at the Game Changer! We will definitely be back to visit again. The owner, Jay was fantastic, hands on and made sure that we had everything that we needed! We did not want to leave and cannot wait to visit again!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (May 10, 2021):

Thank you for your kind review, Venus! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Remember, as a repeat visitor you will save 10% on future stays. Thank you!