Summit Pool Lodge - Sevierville Cabin

Escape To The Mountains - Private Heated Indoor Pool And Theater Room!
Sevierville, TN, US
4.5 (38 Reviews)
Cabin
Sleeps 18
6 Bedrooms
6.5 Baths
No Pets
You won’t be charged yet.

The Cabin

  • Property type: Cabin
  • Sleeps: 18
  • Bedrooms: 6
  • Bathrooms: 6.5
  • Smoking: Non-smoking
  • Beds: King: 5, Sofa Bed: 1, Bunk: 1
  • Check In Time: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out Time: 10:00 AM
  • Min Renter Age: 21+
  • No Pets

Description

The ultimate mountain getaway for your family or large group. Gather with family and friends in the great room or on the covered deck. Enjoy group meals in the fully equipped kitchen and dining area. Play games in the game room, watch a movie in the theater room with 9 foot theater screen and tiered theater seating, or ...wait for it... yes, swim in the private in-cabin heated indoor pool!

This cabin features 6 bedrooms, 6 full baths and 1/2 bath.

Sleeping Configuration:

Main Level - Bedroom 1: King Bed - sleeps 2

Main Level - Bedroom 2: King Bed - sleeps 2

Main Level - Great Room: Queen Sleeper - sleeps 2

Upper Level - Bedroom 3: King Bed - sleeps 2

Upper Level - Bedroom 4: King Bed - sleeps 2

Upper Level - Bedroom 5: King Bed - sleeps 2

Upper Level - Bunk Room: Twin Over Queen Bunk - sleeps 3

Upper Level - Bunk Room: Twin Over Queen Bunk - sleeps 3

Amenities

  • DVD Player
  • Cable Satellite
  • Air Conditioning
  • Washer Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet Access
  • Dishwasher
  • Fitness Center
  • Nearby Grocery
  • Mountain View
  • Grill
  • Resort Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Near Dollywood

Location

Note: Travel times may vary based on season and area occupancy.

Availability

Host
Policies

Host Cancellation Policy

If you cancel your reservation 15 or more days prior to your arrival date a voucher for a future stay will be issued by host in the amount of the deposit less the reservation fee for use for a future stay within 365 days of the date of cancellation. If you cancel your reservation 14 days or less prior to arrival you will be responsible for the full reservation amount (you will forfeit the full deposit amount and the non-refundable reservation fee, and shall be responsible for the remaining rent amount and all other applicable charges associated with the reservation). Only the Guest named on the Agreement may cancel a reservation and cancellations must be made by phone call to Hosts Office.

Plans can be changed before 14 days prior to the scheduled check in with no penalty. No changes are permitted within 14 days of check in.

SmokyMountains.com Service Fee Cancellation Policy

If you choose to cancel or not use your reservation, the SmokyMountains.com Service Fee is always non-refundable.

Traveler Reviews

38 Reviews
4.5 out of 5
Summary
5
61%
4
27%
3
8%
2
0%
1
6%
Talacey M.
Dayton , OH
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed May, 2019

I didn’t want to come home ��

I absolutely loved my Cabin!!! Everything was Absolutely beautiful

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (May 01, 2019):

Thank you for your kind review, Talacey! We are delighted to hear you loved your stay at Summit Pool Lodge. You certainly chose the perfect cabin to relax and unwind from the stresses of everyday life. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Remember, as a repeat visitor you will save 10% on future stays. Thank you!

Suwanee, GA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
3 out of 5
Reviewed July, 2020

Nice cabin - minor issues

The start of the rental was terrible. My group (with seven kids) arrived at 4:00 when the allowed checkin time was 3:00.. We were informed at 1:49 that check-in would be delayed (too late for us since we were already on our way to the cabin).. Quite honestly, if it wasn't for Covid-19, we wouldn't have cared about the late check-in since there is much to do in Pigeon Forge.. However, with Covid, we took a very conservative stance to just play in the cabin, and not venture the city... The cleaning crew couldn't get the linens (beds/towels ready until 9:30 pm)..The company tried to assist us with a later check out time though.. but, it's the day that we were leaving (so, the late check out really doesn't allow us to enjoy the vacation).Overall, the cabin was nice, but minor issues.. Movie theater didn't work.. no chalk for the pool table.. the hot tub was not usable for our first day since it takes a lot of time to heat up, and we checked in late... thus, our 2 day rental really felt like a one day rental)..I would still come back, but I would have planned differently if I knew that the check-in was going to be late (bring chalk for the pool table)..etc.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (July 03, 2020):

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Joe. It is regrettable to know you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay with us. We do apologize for the late check in, but due to Covid, it taking long to clean cabins. We want to be sure to sanitize and make sure our guests are safe for their arrival. I do see where you called to report the theater picture being upside down and we were sending someone out to fix it. You did change your mind and asked to not send anyone out. We sincerely apologize for any issues experienced and hope to see you again in the future. Thank you!

Octavius J.
Cincinnati, OH
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed April, 2019

Cabin Getaway!!!

Amazing

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (April 23, 2019):

Thank you for your wonderful review, Octavius! We are excited to hear your stay was amazing. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. We encourage guests to book direct and save up to 15% on your booking.

Allison T.
Knoxville, TN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed May, 2020

Birthday Bash Greatness

We rented this cabin for our daughters 13th birthday surprise! The property was absolutely gorgeous! Everything was clean and made you feel at home. We had plenty of space and there was enough to keep everyone busy, the pool being the main focus. The only complaint I have would be to whomever cleaned last. There was dry urine along the toilet sit as if it had not been lifted and cleaned. Other than that, no complaints!! We will hands down use this company in the future!!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (May 26, 2020):

Thank you, Allison, for your wonderful review. We are delighted you decided to celebrate your daughters milestone birthday with us. We strive to have the best cabins and want for all of our guests to feel as if they have a home away from home. It is regrettable to hear of the one cleanliness issue and we certainly appreciate you letting you know about it. We can't wait for you to visit us again. Remember, as a returning customer you will receive a 10% discount on future stays. Hurry back, adventure awaits!

Melonie W.
Atlanta, GA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed March, 2019

Family weekend

We had a great weekend . Beautiful Cabin, nice view. I only down side was two of the rooms on the top floor had a wasp issue. We understand due to location.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (March 13, 2019):

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, Melonie. We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve the quality of each stay. We are sorry to hear there was an issue with wasps in the upstairs level. Each of our cabins are professionally treated by our local pest control company. We have noticed more insects outside with the recent spring-like temperatures. Please do not hesitate to contact us during your stay should you discover anything such as this in the future. We are always happy to send a technician out to spray during your stay. We want to ensure your visit is as pest free as possible. Please don't suffer, call us. We love assisting our guests. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience experienced and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Remember, as a repeat visitor you will save 10% on future stays. Thank you!

Shawanna W.
Roseville, MI
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed July, 2020

Relaxing Beautiful view

Fun and amazing time spent with family

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (July 11, 2020):

We are always thrilled to hear of great family experiences with our resort. We hope to share new memories with you. Remember, as a repeat visitor you will save 10% on future stays. Thank you!

Virginia Beach , VA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed October, 2020

Beautiful place

The view from this cabin was gorgeous! We definitely enjoy all the space and the hot tub! GPS took us to a gravel road the first time which was really sketchy but after asking around we were able to find the right road and go up and down the mountain was easy! Not far for anything!! Can’t wait to visit again! Any problems we had were handled quick!! Elk springs has great customer service!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (October 19, 2020):

Thank you for your wonderful review, Saliesha! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry to hear you got turned around trying to find the cabin. Please make sure to use the directions we send when going to the cabin, as GPS is not always reliable in our area. As you experienced first-hand, we care about the quality of your stay and are always happy to assist you in making each stay memorable. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Please keep in mind, as a returning guest you will enjoy 10% off all future stays.

Starkville, MS
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed December, 2020

Amazinggggg!!!

Me and my sisters and our spouses realllyyyy enjoyed ourselves . We will most definitely be coming back . The cabin was everything we just didn’t like the fact that if we wanted to watch a movie in the theater we would’ve had to go buy a Redbox but that was small we used our hotspot to watch a movie .

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (December 08, 2020):

We are so glad that you all enjoyed your stay so much! We do certainly apologize about the movie situation but we are happy to hear that it did not ruin your stay! We cannot wait to be able to serve you again in the future!

Brittany E.
Clinton Twp, MI
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed November, 2019

Magnificent stay in the mountains

The cabin was beautiful and fulfilled all of my guests needs. The pool was warm and everything was clean. Although we were lost on windy gap road where there are no rails and it feels like you are going to plunge off a cliff, once we made it to the property we were very satisfied. Be sure to follow the directions provided and make sure you are on the correct road that leads to the property.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (November 26, 2019):

Thank you, Brittany, for sharing your experience with us. We are ecstatic to know you enjoyed your stay with us. The roads going to this cabin can be challenging, however, the views you will experience walking into this cabin are certainly well worth any challenge experienced. We encourage guests to book direct and save up to 15% on your booking. Hurry back, new memories are waiting to be made!

Chongtae K.
Suwanee, GA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed July, 2019

Very good cabin

Very clean everything

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (July 10, 2019):

We are please that you enjoyed your recent cabin stay. It would be a pleasure to serve you again in the future. Remember as repeat visitors you will receive 10% off future bookings. Thank you!