Briarstone Lodge Condo 13e - Pigeon Forge Condo

3 BR Condo, Deck, BBQ Grill, DVD Player, Resort Pool, Central Air, Sleeps 16
Pigeon Forge, TN, US
3.5 (13 Reviews)
Condo
Sleeps 18
3 Bedrooms
3 Baths
Pets Allowed

The Cabin

  • Property type: Condo
  • Sleeps: 18
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Smoking: Non-smoking
  • Beds: Queen: 3, Sofa Bed: 1, Bunk: 6
  • Check In Time: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out Time: 11:00 AM
  • Pets Allowed

Description

Convenience is definitely something you will appreciate about this unique property. Located literally across the street from Dollywood and Splash Country this park like setting has all the conveniences without all the hassle of heavy traffic and congestion. Simply decorated you will find all the creature comforts of home and this will soon become your haven from the cares and worries of the world. The retreat atmosphere is almost like the feeling you had when you were young and the excitement of a camp visit was all you could think about. Quiet nights by a bon fire reflecting on the goodness of our Creator will put you in the right frame of mind. From small parties of only two people to very large ones of several hundred this village is equipped to handle all your needs. If you are simply planning some time away with your significant other or you are in need of a venue with ample room for a large crowd this will suit your every need. Whether it be a church retreat, wedding, family reunion, corporate event or a getaway for just the two of you our vacation planners are standing by to help you plan the perfect visit to the Great Smoky Mountains of East Tennessee. Call today!!

Amenities

  • Resort Pool
  • Washer Dryer
  • Grill
  • Cable Satellite

Host
Cancellation Policy

60 days prior to arrival a refund by Host is available with a 10% cancellation fee. Host does not under any circumstances provide refunds for cancellations requested within 60 days of reservation arrival date.

Traveler Reviews

13 Reviews
3.5 out of 5
Summary
5
39%
4
16%
3
31%
2
0%
1
16%
River Comm Church J.
Cookeville, TN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed January, 2018

Fantastic weekend

Great accommodations for groups of all sizes, conveniently located,well kept,stocked and excellent guest relations.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (January 24, 2018):

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. These reviews are very important to us as they advise us on where we excel and where we may improve. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to share your comments. Our team strives to provide each guest with an exceptional escape to paradise! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kenneth P.
Avon, IN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
3 out of 5
Reviewed December, 2017

Great time with family

The unit needs to be updated. We had to have it recleaned, floors were dirty. Had a hornet problem. Having said all that we had a great time very convenient to all attractions. Beds were pretty comfortable.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (January 10, 2018):

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. These reviews are very important to us as they advise us on where we excel and where we may improve. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to share your comments. We are terribly sorry to hear about the problems you encountered during this stay. When you reported the hornet problem, we did send our pest control out to resolve the issue. In the future, if there an issue continues to occur after we had already been out, please report it to our team for us to be able to take further steps into fixing them. Our team strives to provide each guest with an exceptional escape to paradise! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Stacia/ron/ryan S.
Bellevue, MI
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed July, 2017

BRIARSTONE LODGE

MY softball team and families rented the entire lodge... Was awesome that you could go up stairs and down stairs without going outside and that all the rooms joined.. Needs some updating as carpet on first floors in 3 bedroom units are pretty rough. Power kept going out of one of those units also in bathroom. Would stay here again.. But owner could put little money into a make it a lot nicer.. The pool is quite a distance, as we drove to it.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (August 01, 2017):

So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. Your feedback is vital to our future success as we learn so much from our guests that allows us to continue providing excellent customer service. We hope to see you back again soon!

Mickey H.
Lanham, MARYLAND
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed July, 2017

Family

Good times with family

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (July 06, 2017):

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. We hope to see you again very soon!

James H.
Madisonville, TN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
3 out of 5
Reviewed January, 2017

Christmas Wedding Vacation

Overall the place was nice...dated but clean and usable. The amenities again were ok but dated. Pool was clean but the heat was not controllable and the game house was fun. The people above me made my stay bad. They wouldn't settle down and we couldn't sleep. There should be a local number to call and a quiet time posted. I feel cheated and couldn't wait to leave my last night.

Would recommend to others? No
Host Resonse (June 28, 2017):

Thank you for your stay at Eden Crest. We are terribly sorry to hear about the problems you encountered during this stay and have shared your feedback with our management team. Please know we will work hard to correct the issues you have brought to our attention. Again, we apologize.

Don B.
Harrisburg, IL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed November, 2016

Family fun in Pigeon Forge

The stay at Briarstone Lodge was comfortable for a family vacation over Thanksgiving weekend. Available accommodations made cooking Thanksgiving dinner and all other meals as easy as being at home and more affordable for a large group.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (December 05, 2016):

Thank you for filling out this survey. The team here is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon!

Melissa L.
Newark, OH
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
1 out of 5
Reviewed October, 2016

Disgusting

Had cockroaches, dirty carpets and floors!A motel 6 is nicer!Wouldn't do anything to remedy situation!

Would recommend to others? No
Host Resonse (November 30, 2016):

Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. Your feedback is vital to our future success as we learn so much from our guests that allows us to continue providing excellent customer service. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. We hope to see you again very soon!

Sachin P.
Missouri City, TEXAS
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed December, 2015

good overall stay

Very hard to find anyone for any kind of complain. office was close for two days and we didn't have garbage bag or paper roll. we have to go walmart to get some. everything else was fine. They are very poor in communication before your stay. I have call for information.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (January 01, 2016):

We greatly appreciate the time you took to share your positive review with us. These reviews are very important to us, as they allow us to know where we can make improvements but also when we excel. We have a great team that truly want to make each vacation experience a wonderful memory for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Riesa P.
Bellevue, WA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
1 out of 5
Reviewed August, 2015

Wish I never had stayed pay 40. 00 a day for house keeping never

The worse place we have every stayed. Carpet had big stains setting area had holes in it,one bathroom had dirt over shower stall or could had been black mold,dust webs in corners of rooms,one of the toilets was loose bad Odor in room could have been sewer gas. A couple was inspecting another room when leaving I ask if they wanted them if they wanted to inspect ours with us they replied they could not as long as we where in it. NO wifi pool and hot tub half mile away .

Would recommend to others? No
Host Resonse (August 21, 2015):

Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. We do apologize for the disappointment you experienced while staying with us. We regret to hear that you had any issues. We are sorry to hear that you did not find the cabin cleaned to your satisfaction. Unfortunately, we cannot find any recordings of you calling to share concerns about the cleanliness of the cabin nor do we show any work order requests for cleaners to return. Had you said anything about your concerns during your stay we would have gladly sent the cleaners back to address them. We contract cleaners to clean each cabin and they understand that if the cleaning is not considered satisfactory to a guest they will be expected to return to the cabin to address any issues. Now that you are gone there is no way for us to take issue with the manner in which they cleaned the cabin. In the future we would respectfully request that you let us know so that we can have the opportunity to immediately address it. We truly regret that your last visit did not exceed all of your hopes and expectations. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. While we are human and none of us are perfect, our efforts were sincere and hope that you will accept our sincere apology in the spirit in which it is given.

Huntsville, ALABAMA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed August, 2015

Great Location

Great for a large group. Furniture was very outdated and dirty. Great location and price.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (August 10, 2015):

Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. We do apologize for the disappointment you experienced while staying with us over the furnishings. We are currently working to get this updated and upgraded with all kinds of new things. We are very sorry to hear that you had any issues. We hope that you will accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience you experienced and appreciate your willingness to visit us again. We look forward to seeing you in the near the future.

Map