Smoky Mountain Cinema - Pigeon Forge Cabin

6 Bedroom Cabin, Theater Room, Game Room, Hot Tub, Sleeps 18, Dogs Ok, Grill
Pigeon Forge, TN, US
4.0 (51 Reviews)
Cabin
Sleeps 18
6 Bedrooms
6.5 Baths
WiFi
No Pets

The Cabin

  • Property type: Cabin
  • Sleeps: 18
  • Bedrooms: 6
  • Bathrooms: 6.5
  • Smoking: Non-smoking
  • Beds: King: 6, Queen: 1, Bunk: 1, Other: 1
  • Check In Time: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out Time: 11:00 AM
  • No Pets

Description

When peanut butter met chocolate—that was a memorable day. But when cinema meets the Great Smoky Mountains—that is the perfect recipe for a fabulous vacation! “Smoky Mountain Cinema,” a luxury Pigeon Forge cabin, boasts six bedrooms, six a half baths, and comfortably accommodates up to 18 people! So bring the whole family or a whole bunch of friends. “Smoky Mountain Cinema” is packed with luxury amenities too, so be prepared to have so much fun on this vacation that you may not ever want to leave! With professional décor and beautiful hardwood floors, as well as a fully-equipped kitchen, “Smoky Mountain Cinema” also features a game room packed with fun activities including a pool table, air hockey table, Wii gaming system and a stand up arcade. All six bedrooms in “Smoky Mountain Cinema” include a king-sized bed and private deck. A bedside Jacuzzi is also included in each of the four master suites. You will also enjoy spending time watching movies together in the home theater room on a large projector screen. The home theater provides cinema style seating with two tiers of luxury leather seats! So pop some corn and let the fun begin! Your trip to Pigeon Forge will be a truly memorable experience after your stay in “Smoky Mountain Cinema.” You will be close enough to enjoy all of the attractions of Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg and the luxury you will experience in this heavenly cabin will have you counting the days until your next vacation! So grab a Reese’s peanut butter cup and celebrate the next great invention—cinema in the Great Smoky Mountains! Under no circumstances will Fraternities and Sororities be allowed in any unit or cabin.

Amenities

  • Washer Dryer
  • Theater Room
  • Grill
  • Hot Tub
  • Wifi

Host
Cancellation Policy

60 days prior to arrival a refund by Host is available with a 10% cancellation fee. Host does not under any circumstances provide refunds for cancellations requested within 60 days of reservation arrival date.

Traveler Reviews

51 Reviews
4.0 out of 5
Summary
5
40%
4
38%
3
12%
2
6%
1
6%
Jacksonville, ARKANSAS
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed June, 2018

Plenty of room

Our family consisted of 11 adults , 5 teenagers and 4 children. We had plenty of space, sleeping arrangements were perfect. Hang out areas inside the house were great. However, the main reason we chose this area of TN is because we love the outdoors. There is no place outside to hang out with family. The decks are small with not enough seating. Each deck had 1 rocker. I would think rooms would mostly have couples, so why not at least two rockers on each deck? A common area with fire pit would have been great. Adding a larger fridge, or second fridge, would have been helpful, a single small fridge is not very useful for large family.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (June 17, 2018):

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are sorry to hear that your cabin choice did not exceed all your expectations. As you may or may not know all our cabins are individually owned. Each owner personally chooses the decor, furniture, and amenities for their cabin. We will however mention these suggestions for upgrades to the owner. We appreciate your feedback as it is vital to our future success as we learn so much from our guests that allows us to continue providing excellent customer service. We hope to see you again soon so that your next visit can be one that you can brag about.

Galax, VIRGINIA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed June, 2018

Family get together.

Great time with family. Cabin made it possible for all of us to be together.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (June 12, 2018):

. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to share your comments. Our team strives to provide each guest with an exceptional escape to paradise! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Patrick W.
Pompano Beach, FL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed May, 2018

Good for the price

Stayed for about a week. Overall, a good experience, with some definite pros and cons.The property managers are fantastic. The A/C on the upper floor wasn't cooling correctly, and Eden Crest promptly brought a portable A/C when we called on a Friday night.The cinema room was a waste of space. The picture online showed 3 couches and a recliner, but there were only 2 couches that seated 3 people each. In addition, the projector image was blurry – basically unusable. We didn’t book a cabin to sit and watch movies, but it’s nice to be able to throw on a movie while everyone is hanging out, and having a main area to hang out in. We ended up hanging out on the main floor.The cabin doesn't restrict sound. You can hear someone talking in adjoining room or another floor as if they were standing next to you, clear as day – every word, every noise.There are no bathroom doors in the bedrooms. If you’re sharing a room, prepare to tear down some boundaries.Overall, good for the price.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (June 04, 2018):

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your cabin choice. As you may or may not know each of our cabins are privately owned. Each owner personally chooses the décor and amenities that they feel will be the most inviting experience for both themselves and guests. We will mention the suggestion for upgrades and when any updates are made to the cabin new photos will be taken and posted on the website. We appreciate your continued support of Eden Crest. Our Vacation Planners would be happy to assist you in finding a cabin that may better suit you next time. We hope to see you again soon.

Misty K.
Lawrenceburg, TN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed May, 2018

Wedding Party

We rented Smoky Mnt Cinema for us and our wedding party and close family to stay in. Was absolutely perfect for what we needed. Everyone was close, but still had their own space. Will be renting it again in the near future.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (May 02, 2018):

We our honored you chose Eden Crest to help celebrate your special occasion. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff strive very hard to make our guests vacation experience the best that it can be. We always love to hear such great positive feedback. We look forward to having you come stay with us again.

David & Azalee C.
Charlotte, NC
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed March, 2018

Awesome

We had five couples at this property and we had the absolutely best time. We had couples that had never been to the mountains or the cabins and really enjoyed themselves. We only stayed three nights and we are planning for a week next year.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (March 26, 2018):

So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. Your feedback is vital to our future success as we learn so much from our guests that allows us to continue providing excellent customer service. We hope to see you back again soon!

Stockbridge, GA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
1 out of 5
Reviewed March, 2018

We do not recommend staying with Eden Crest!!!

We had issues from the time we stepped into the cabin!! The floors were dirty, dirty dishes, broken chairs, the dryer didn’t work, hair in the sheets, the hot tub didn’t work. This cabin should not have been rented!! The management didn’t try to make anything better!! Poor customer service!! We paid 3500.00 for 2 cabins and we will not stay with Eden Crest again!!!!

Would recommend to others? No
Host Resonse (March 28, 2018):

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your cabin choice or our services. Our team made every effort to address your concerns as quickly as possible. The cleaners were sent back out to address your cleaning complaint and the one broken bar stool was quickly fixed for you during your stay. Unfortunately you never mentioned the hot tub, dryer or any other issues during your stay. The hot tub for example was simply in sleep mode. Had you informed us during your stay, it too would have been quickly resolved. In spite of the fact that most of your complaints were minor and not mentioned until after your departure we made every effort to make amends and offered you gift certificates. Your characterization of our staff is not fair or valid. As you may recall all of our calls are recorded for quality assurance and training purposes. Our records show that our staff was very polite and worked quickly to address complaints. While we cannot control when items may break or anticipate when a guest may need assistance turning on the hot tub, we made every effort to provide you with a beautiful cabin and friendly service. It is clear that we will never meet your expectations and wish you all the best.

Catrice W.
Acworth, GA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
3 out of 5
Reviewed January, 2018

Smokey Mountain Cinema

The cabin was beautiful some of the televisions didn’t work the air hockey game would not work other than that had a blast

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (February 02, 2018):

We are sorry that you had any issues during your stay. The issues were reported after hours on the last night of your stay. Unfortunately, we were not able to make it out that night due to our maintenance technician being on call for emergencies only. We did send a technician out the next morning to address the issues and have shared the information with our management team and individual owner. Again, we apologize and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Mallori B.
Charleston, SOUTH CAROLINA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed December, 2017

Smoky Mountain Cinema

Our stay at Smoky Mountain Cinema was fantastic. The cabin is close enough to all the amenities, but far enough out to enjoy the mountain scenery. The cabin was spotless and we had more than enough room for everyone in our group! The only complaint I have is how close the neighboring cabins are. The pictures make the cabin look like it stands alone, but it is really in a small group of 8 cabins or so. Besides that everything was perfect.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (January 09, 2018):

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. These reviews are very important to us as they advise us on where we excel and where we may improve. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to share your comments. Our team would be happy to assist you in finding a cabin more secluded for your next stay. Our team strives to provide each guest with an exceptional escape to paradise! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Marie J.
Simpsonsville, SC
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed December, 2017

Best Cabin Ever!!

This cabin was a great size for our party of 12 adults and 4 children. It is perfectly laid out so everyone can be together or you can have your space if you need it. There were a few technical difficulties that I have spoken with management about and they have assured me they will resolve. Other than that, it was the best cabin we've ever visited in all our years of renting cabins. We hope to visit again soon.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (December 07, 2017):

So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. Your feedback is vital to our future success as we learn so much from our guests that allows us to continue providing excellent customer service. We hope to see you back again soon!

Philadelphia, MS
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed December, 2017

Great Place to Stay

We Stayed for 3 nights and it was a great experience. Had an issue with the refrigerator leaking and they responded quickly. I was very pleased with the accommodations and plan on returning in 2018!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (December 05, 2017):

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. These reviews are very important to us as they advise us on where we excel and where we may improve. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to share your comments. Our team strives to provide each guest with an exceptional escape to paradise! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Map