Off The Clock - Pigeon Forge Cabin

Off the Clock, Vaulted Ceilings, Stacked Fireplace, Wrap-around Porches
Pigeon Forge, TN, US
4.5 (59 Reviews)
Cabin
Sleeps 11
4 Bedrooms
3.5 Baths
WiFi
No Pets

The Cabin

  • Property type: Cabin
  • Sleeps: 11
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 3.5
  • Smoking: Non-smoking
  • Beds: King: 1, Queen: 3, Sofa Bed: 1, Other: 1
  • Check In Time: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out Time: 11:00 AM
  • No Pets

Description

The work week seems to get longer and longer as the time between vacations increases. Maybe it has been so long since your last vacation that is seems your work week lasts for months on end! Well, clear off your desk, set your out of office assistant on your email and get “Off The Clock!” But don’t settle for a boring staycation! Pack your bags and prepare to be wowed in the Great Smoky Mountains of East Tennessee. “Off The Clock” is more than just a respite from work, it is a journey into a nature-inspired paradise. Loaded with modern amenities, “Off The Clock” features spacious accommodations for up to 11 people and is only minutes away from Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. And if you just want to stay in, get ready for hours of fun with a stand-up arcade game, pool table and 42? flat screen TV. The only thing “office-like” about this Pigeon Forge cabin is the free Wi-Fi and long distance available just in case you absolutely have to check in with the office. Or maybe just email some photos of your luxury cabin to make the drones stuck in the office jealous! “Off The Clock” will not disappoint with soaring, vaulted ceilings, stacked stone fireplace and wrap-around porches. Enjoy the cool mountain evenings in the country porch rockers or grill out and dine on the deck! Be sure to check out the glorious sunsets and sparkling star-lit skies in the hot tub on the private deck. “Off The Clock” offers a master bedroom suite, with a king-sized bed, private bedside whirlpool tub, flat screen TV, and a full bathroom. Not to be outdone, the other bedrooms are also luxuriously appointed and will surely not disappoint even the savviest traveler! “Off The Clock” is located in the family-friendly resort of Smoky Cove, which features a picnic pavilion, horseshoe pits, and bonfire area. Go ahead and indulge in a little overtime and you will surely be fully compensated at “Off The Clock”!

Amenities

  • Resort Pool
  • Washer Dryer
  • Cable Satellite
  • Grill
  • Hot Tub
  • Wifi

Host
Cancellation Policy

60 days prior to arrival a refund by Host is available with a 10% cancellation fee. Host does not under any circumstances provide refunds for cancellations requested within 60 days of reservation arrival date.

Traveler Reviews

59 Reviews
4.5 out of 5
Summary
5
62%
4
23%
3
12%
2
2%
1
4%
Debra M.
Mauldin, TN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
2 out of 5
Reviewed January, 2018

Off the clock

First of all was sad to see that there were no use at all of this cabin. Second I was very disappointed and how poorly the jacuzzi was and how top to the jacuzzi was falling apart. I thought the beds were amazing until I took off one of the sheets and there was a huge blood stain in the master bedroom. Although I do think the bed was very comfortable. There are no structions on how to work the fireplace so that was very upsetting because we can never use the fireplace it was very cold this week. There were 4 remotes to HTV and it made it very complicated to figure out how to work the TV. all the trash cans had garbage bags in the bottom of the trash cans so therefore they were sticky and dirty. I had to go buy a can opener for the cabin because the one that they had did not work. The upstairs bathroom in the Loft late and poured water onto the kitchen floor. The positive to this cabin was it did have a lot of room and nice comfy beds that had blood stains on them last but not least the second day we went to use the jacuzzi it was freezing even though I had it set on a hundred for degrees and over half of the water was gone. We have stayed many cabins and yours was the most disappointing of all.. sent the person that was on the lease to pick up the tickets and they said that they could not do it because someone else email was on the reservations.

Would recommend to others? No
Meghan D.
Mokena, IL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed January, 2018

review

We had a great stay - house was comfy and we all slept well. Tvs and pac man game were a little tricky to use but that is our only complaint.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (January 22, 2018):

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. These reviews are very important to us as they advise us on where we excel and where we may improve. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to share your comments. Our team strives to provide each guest with an exceptional escape to paradise! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Lucy O.
Columbia, TN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed January, 2018

Great birthday weekend!

We celebrated my husband's 50th and a friend's 60th birthday by spending the weekend at Off The Clock. We 4 couples had a fabulous time and are making plans to return!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (January 04, 2018):

Thank you for choosing Eden Crest for your special birthday trip. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Eden Crest. Our staff strive very hard to make our guests vacation experience the best that it can be. We always love to hear such great positive feedback. We look forward to having you come stay with us again.

Ellen M.
Puryear, TN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
3 out of 5
Reviewed December, 2017

Was a little expensive for the conditions, but overall was nice

The hot tub was filthy and had some kind of black substance floating in it. The kids came in freaking out and itching all over. The stairs going from the main floor to the basement were extremely dirty. The 3rd floor shower wouldn’t get hot. They didn’t pick up the trash so the can outside was full and we had no where to put our trash. The pictures were deceiving because when you look off the back porch you’re actually looking at another cabin.... not down a mountain like the picture depicted. But, all those negatives being said... the cabin was all in all nice and we enjoyed our stay!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (December 29, 2017):

We are very sad to see your review about this cabin. We are extremely sorry that the first we heard of any issues was upon your check-out. We take cleaning extremely seriously and would have sent the cleaners back to address any issues or concerns. We have a three team cabin preparation process. The cabin is stripped by one team, then another team cleans the cabin and after all is done the entire cabin is reviewed by an inspector. As you may or may not know each cabin is privately owned so they each provide a unique experience with décor and amenities that are personally chosen by the owner. Our Vacation Planners would be happy to help you find a cabin that may better suit your desires. We know that your next visit can be one that you truly enjoy.

West Columbia, SOUTH CAROLINA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed December, 2017

Winter Wonderland

The cabin was beautiful! It was even better than the pictures, & fully equipped with everything we needed. It isn't far from the parkway and the view was amazing! I also love the check in/out process using the smartphone app, it's so convenient and easy to use. I will definitely be renting from this company again!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (December 13, 2017):

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Eden Crest. Our staff strive very hard to make our guests vacation experience the best that it can be. We always love to hear such great positive feedback. We look forward to having you come stay with us again.

Antioch, TN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
1 out of 5
Reviewed November, 2017

very average cabin

The cabin had a lot of damaged items. one of the chair legs were loose.The can opener was broken so all the cannned foods we brought could not be eaten. Not enough big knives available to chop our food. And then worst of all was we tried ti grill and the propane was low. we contacted the office and they did nothing to help us. We bought 150 dollars worth of meat that was going to waste if we dont cook it. we ended up going to a gas station tp get a propane for 54 dollars. Why advertise you have grilling when you can't provide all equipment. Being able to grill was one of the reasobs we chose this cabin.the jaccuzi jets weren't strong enough. And not enough entertainments games available. tv was too small.

Would recommend to others? No
Host Resonse (November 29, 2017):

We are very sorry that you had any issues during your stay. Sadly you did not mention any of the issues while you were in the cabin. Had you mentioned them while you were here we would have quickly addressed them for you. We have extra kitchen supplies at our office and would have happily delivered you more. As for the propane, anytime you need to refill propane and the office is closed would reimburse you the cost of having to get it filled up. All cabins are individually owned, as for the lack of entertainment and the tv's we will report this to the owners. With that being said, the pictures on our website do show that the tv's in the cabin are small. In the future please give us a call with any issues so we can address those for you immediately!

Mount Pleasant, TN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed November, 2017

First time staying in a cabin

I loved the cabin and it was very maintained. I will defiantly be going through the company again for my next cabin.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (November 18, 2017):

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Eden Crest. Our staff strive very hard to make our guests vacation experience the best that it can be. We always love to hear such great positive feedback. We look forward to having you come stay with us again.

Shawn W.
Cookeville, TENNESSEE
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed November, 2017

A tradition

My family and I stay at a cabin each October/November for an early thanksgiving. This is actually the second time we've stayed at this cabin. It's very large and cozy. The basement is full of fun things to do and has a great media room. Would recommend.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (November 11, 2017):

We are honored that you continue to choose Eden Crest and the cabin Off the Clock for your smoky mountain stay! These reviews are very important to us as they advise us on where we excel and where we may improve. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to share your comments. Our team strives to provide each guest with an exceptional escape to paradise! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Ashok Kumar S.
Mooresville, NC
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
3 out of 5
Reviewed November, 2017

Good place

This is great place for a weekend stay during fall season. We stayed here for couple of days to see the fall colors. Location of the cabin and amenities are really good. But few things by the maintainace company could have made our stay a memorable one. 1) First of all , the rental company could have called and mentioned about the alarm set up inside the property.Alarm was turned ON when we checked in and entered in one of the rooms. It was late in the night and the alarm sound caused a lot of noise annoying us and disturbing our neighbours as took few minutes for us to figure it out on how to turn the alaram off.But it was a terrible experience in the late night with kids. In the confusion to switch off the alarm , one of our friends turned the fire alarm ON. We had an officer from local fire department visiting us to check if everything was alright :-). Though everything ended well the confusion could have avoided if we were informed about the alarm system.2) One of the sofas in the living room was smelling bad.Looks like something had spilled over the couch and it was not cleaned properly . But the smell was awful , causing the guests to adjust in other two sofas.That sofa needs a thorough and professional cleaning.3) There were TVs in each room.But most of the TV remotes were misplaced. We tried our best to watch something on TV but had no luck.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (November 09, 2017):

We are sorry to hear that you had any issues during your stay. Sadly we do not show any record of you contacting us during your stay regarding the couch cleanliness or missing TV remotes. We take cleaning extremely seriously. We have a three step process. Trash and linens are removed after each stay, cleaning is completed by a team and then inspected prior to arrival. While humans can make mistakes and possibly miss things, our team will immediately address any oversights if given the opportunity. Sadly hearing your comments about the couch or remotes after departure does not allow us the ability to rectify it for you so that you can fully enjoy your stay. In regards to the alarm, we provide each guest with directions to the cabin. On those directions it also clearly states that the cabin has an alarm and includes the alarm code. We are happy to make updates and improvements to our check-in procedures but cannot imagine a better way of providing the alarm information than to include it with the directions to the cabin. Again we are sorry that you did not fully enjoy your cabin choice but hope to help you enjoy a great escape to the Smoky Mountains the next time you visit.

Liberty Township, OHIO
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed October, 2017

Off the clock oct 2017

Very nice place. slept 8 adults and 2 grandchildren very comfortably. Nice kitchen. Plenty of room. A couple minor issues. Loft shower leaked down onto the main floor kitchen area. So we quit taking showers there. Very cramped and unable to play pool. Table is tucked in a corner. Video game machine on the fritz.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (October 30, 2017):

Thank you for your recent stay at Eden Crest. We are terribly sorry to hear about the problems you encountered during this stay and have shared your feedback with our management team. Please know we will work hard to correct the issues you have brought to our attention. We will always strive to provide our guests with a great vacation experience and continue to make improvements whenever we fall short of that goal. We hope to see you again soon !

Map