Bear Heaven - Pigeon Forge Cabin

Bear Heaven
Pigeon Forge, TN, US
4.5 (67 Reviews)
Cabin
Sleeps 6
2 Bedrooms
2 Baths
WiFi
Pets Allowed
You won’t be charged yet.

The Cabin

  • Property type: Cabin
  • Sleeps: 6
  • Bedrooms: 2
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Smoking: Non-smoking
  • Beds: 1 King, 1 Queen, 1 Sleeper Sofa Q
  • Check In Time: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out Time: 11:00 AM
  • Min Renter Age: 21+
  • Pets Allowed

Description

Are you looking for a down home vacation in the Smoky Mountains and yet be only five minutes from Dollywood and ten minutes from the main Parkway? Something that is ideal for you and your loved ones to share and enjoy together? Bear Heaven is the perfect spot to feel like you part of the Lone Branch Creek Resort Community and to truly experience living in the Smoky Mountains.

With 2 bedrooms and 2 private bathrooms that are conveniently located on the main level this charming bungalow is easy to navigate with all the amenities and homespun charm located on one story. This vacation spot is family friendly and that includes your four-legged family members as the entire household is welcome here!

With not one but two master suites and a queen sleeper sofa Bear Heaven is the perfect escape for a family or a few close friends to get away! One bedroom features a king-sized and the other a queen-sized bed. Both master suites have cable TV DVD players and a private bathroom.

Whether you choose to bring another couple or you prefer to have fun with the kids and family this cabin is sure to provide you all that you need. You can relax in front of the stone fireplace in the great room and enjoy your favorite movies on the flat screen TV. When you are not eating Supper together why not put together a little card game of Hearts or Go Fish at the dining room table that seats six. Make sure you carve out a little time to enjoy the resort playground picnic area and creek.

Also remember that in addition to having your home in the mountains you get to also enjoy all the fun and free admissions that we provide to you for each night of your stay. Go enjoy putt-putt Ripley’s Aquarium Hatfield and McCoy’s dinner show The Comedy Barn ice cream at Mad Dog’s Creamery and dinner at MaMa’s Farmhouse. And also only 5 minutes from Dollywood and Dollywood Splash Country. There is so much to do out and about you will be hard pressed to decide whether to run around or just stroll by the creek.

We welcome you to Bear Heaven and are confident that you will be able to make heavenly memories. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Amenities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Dishwasher
  • Fireplace
  • Grill
  • Hot Tub
  • Cable Satellite
  • DVD Player
  • Wifi
  • Pet Friendly

Location

Note: Travel times may vary based on season and area occupancy.

Availability

Host
Cancellation Policy

60 days prior to arrival a refund by Host is available with a 10% cancellation fee. Host does not under any circumstances provide refunds for cancellations requested within 60 days of reservation arrival date.

Traveler Reviews

67 Reviews
4.5 out of 5
Summary
5
71%
4
20%
3
6%
2
2%
1
3%
Latonia, KY
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed August, 2016

nice get away

The cabin was in a good location not far from all the attractions. The community where the cabin is, is quiet. We took our dog and the cabin was pet friendly. We enjoyed our stay at Bear Haven. The beds were ok but I don't sleep well away from home. The arcade game in the cabin seems worn out.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (October 06, 2016):

Thank you for taking the time to fill out this survey and for choosing Eden Crest Vacation rentals as your vacation destination. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. Your feedback is vital to our future success as we learn so much from our guests that allows us to continue providing excellent customer service. We are sorry you experienced any problems, but thrilled to hear that the problems didn't interrupt your vacation. We hope to see you again very soon!

Christine B.
,
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed September, 2017

2017 Fall Rod Run

VERYclean cabin. Peaceful and quiet. Just minutes to Pigeon Forge. We really enjoyed our stay. Simple, easy check in/out. Will stay again in the future.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (September 21, 2017):

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Eden Crest. Our staff strive very hard to make our guests vacation experience the best that it can be. We always love to hear such great positive feedback. We look forward to having you come stay with us again.

Nancy T.
Coloma, MI
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed October, 2017

Absolutely Beautiful

We stayed at this same cabin last year and loved it so much that we wanted to stay in same one again this year.. perfect location for everything we wanted to do .. clean. comfortable .. just perfect.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (October 24, 2017):

We are honored that you continue to choose Eden Crest for your smoky mountain getaway. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. We hope to see you again very soon!

Brevard, NC
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
3 out of 5
Reviewed March, 2019

Review

This was a great place overall but as originally listed I thought it was a lodge secluded in woods but it ended up being a cabin complex. I was a hit disappointed with this impression as shown online. Let yuan this mistake all was great.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (March 29, 2019):

We are sorry to hear that you did not realize the cabin is located in a resort. It does have the cabin listed online as being in a resort. We do have cabins that are more secluded if that is to your liking. Our Vacation Planners would be glad to assist you in finding a cabin in a location that would be more to your preference on your next visit. We hope to see you again soon!

Asheville, NC
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed June, 2018

Our Dollywood trip

Enjoyed our stay at bear haven. Cute, clean and great location. Only complaint we had was there were no sheets for pull out couch which had goldfish crackers in it.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (June 27, 2018):

We are very sorry that you had any issues during your stay. Sadly you did not mention any of the issue while you were in the cabin. Had you mentioned them while you were here we would have quickly addressed them for you. As for any cleaning oversights we are sorry. The cleaners will return to address any issues or oversights if they are reported when you check-in. In the future we would respectfully request that you let us know about any issues so that we can remedy them for you in a timely manner. Keeping this in mind we know that your next visit can be one that you truly enjoy!

Tom W.
Geneseo, IL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed July, 2017

Great Cabin. Good location.

Clean, well maintained cabin. No surprises, just fun!Thank you!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (July 11, 2017):

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. We hope to see you again very soon!

Katie Z.
Mills River, NC
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed September, 2017

Great Cabin!

Bear Heaven was a beautiful, clean and adorably decorated cabin. We had a great weekend stay, only wish we had more time!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (September 12, 2017):

Thank you for taking the time to fill out this survey and for choosing Eden Crest Vacation rentals as your vacation destination. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. The team here is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon!

Joyce M.
Nashville, TN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed November, 2016

Perfect for a weekend get away

It was a breeze booking the cabin, loved the app with all the info,and the mobile check out. The cabin was perfect for what we needed.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (December 01, 2016):

Thank you for taking the time to fill out this survey and for choosing Eden Crest Vacation rentals as your vacation destination. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. The team here is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon!

Katie L.
Spartenburg, SC
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
1 out of 5
Reviewed November, 2016

Very Disappointed

This was our 3rd time staying with Eden Crest. It was not a fun experience at all. We were told that our cabin was ready and we could come whenever. When I told Heather that we wouldn't be there until later that evening she seemed to not be happy that we weren't coming early. When we finally did get there, our fireplace would not come on. We woke up the next morning to go into the living room and it was about 43 degrees in there so we had to turn our heat up to about 87. We called maintenance and was told that the tank for the gas was EMPTY!!!! But yet we were told that our cabin was ready. I do not consider that ready. We also had to BUY lightbulbs to put out on the deck because both were burnt out. Again, cabin was not ready. When I pay a generous amount for a cabin I expect it to be ready. Called the manager on Monday to see if anything could be resolved or we could at least get some of our money back and THEY REFUSED!!! Instead they're sending a gift certificate, but we won't be staying again.

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (June 14, 2017):

Thank you for your recent stay at Eden Crest. We are terribly sorry to hear about the problems you encountered during this stay and have shared your feedback with our management team. Please know we will work hard to correct the issues you have brought to our attention. Again, we apologize.

Misty L.
Cincinnati, OH
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
3 out of 5
Reviewed September, 2018

Nice, but not good communication

First let me start by saying that this cabin is cute, close to Pigeon Forge, and has a stocked kitchen for cooking. The management company...not great. Maybe I am a little biased because I am a property manager. Before arriving for the trip, I had sent several emails asking about the pet fee. When I searched for cabins, this one came up as a pet friendly cabin. After no response from several emails regarding the pet policy, I called the management office. At this time, I was told that there was no pet fee and that there was a 3rd party insurance that could be purchased. We were still up in the air about bringing our dog. Keep in mind that when I reserved the cabin, I selected pet friendly. For all they knew, I was bringing a pet. The morning we were set to leave, I called the office again to confirm about a pet fee...typically it is listed on your summary...nothing on this one. I was told that bringing my dog would cost me $150...not a deposit. That sounds a lot like a pet fee! I was furious. Needless to say, we had to scramble around that morning to find someone to watch out dog. Upon entering the cabin, there was a no pet sign that had been covered by a decorative frame...what???! Also, there are stairs leading to an upstairs...door was locked. There was no mention of this on the property description. I called Eden Crest and was told this was where the owner kept their items and it was supposed to be locked. This is absolutely fine and understandable, but why wasn't this disclosed prior? Bad communication. Plus, this management company discriminated against certain breeds of dogs...Rottweillers, German Shepherds (not 110% it is German Shepherds), and Pit Bulls. If the owner ever gets a new management company, then yes, I would rent again...but I won't rent another cabin that is managed by Eden Crest.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (October 03, 2018):

We are terribly sorry to see your review about this cabin and Eden Crest. As you may or may not know, all of our calls are recorded for quality assurance. We immediately investigated your complaints so that we could address any training opportunities. According to our records, you had booked your reservation online so we reached out to confirm it but had to leave a message. When you called us back regarding the confirmation of your reservation, you discussed the pet policy with our Vacation Planner. You informed us that you were not bringing your dog due to finding a pet sitter. Our rental agreement, staff and website all clearly outline that we do not charge a pet fee for a single dog under 35 lbs. Any guest who brings a second dog will be charged a fee for the additional dog. The day of your arrival, you contacted our office stating that you were told there would be no pet fee and that you were bringing a pet over our 35 weight limit. As stated in the previous phone call, all larger dogs are reviewed on a case by case basis and could amount in a higher pet fee than what we typically charge for a second dog under the 35 lb. weight limit. You were not happy with the policy and announced that you would find a pet sitter for your vacation. Unfortunately, Home Owner Insurance companies blacklist or restrict certain breeds of dogs and we must respect these restrictions. As you know all of our cabins are individually owned. It is very common for owners to have a private closet that they lock off from guest usage. The closet is not advertised for use and this is the first time we have ever had a request to be informed of an owner’s closet. We are sorry that frustrated you so much. As illustrated on the posted floor plan, both bedrooms are on the main level and there is no "Upper Level" area in the cabin. Regarding the emails that you state you sent over, we are not sure where you sent them to as we have no record of receiving them. Again, we apologize for any confusion.