Dream On High - Sevierville Cabin

Dream On High
Sevierville, TN, US
4.5 (96 Reviews)
Cabin
Sleeps 10
1 Bedrooms
2 Baths
WiFi
Pets Allowed
You won’t be charged yet.

The Cabin

  • Property type: Cabin
  • Sleeps: 10
  • Bedrooms: 1
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Smoking: Non-smoking
  • Beds: 2 King, 3 Sleeper Sofa Q
  • Check In Time: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out Time: 10:00 AM
  • Min Renter Age: 21+
  • Pets Allowed

Description

Has stress and a restless mind been weighing on you? Come take a break while you dream on top of the world at the Dream on High cabin. This cabin not only offers spectacular views of the Great Smoky Mountains but it is located conveniently to all the area attractions.

This duel-level log cabin displays the image of true relaxation with its professional décor and updated furniture. There is a cozy master bedroom on the main level that is equipped with a king-size log bed and a full bathroom. The living room and kitchen are also located on the main level and they offer anything and everything you could imagine needing while staying in your home away from home. You can also cook a meal outdoors with a gas grill that will be ready to go!

Once you mosey up the stairs in the home you will find a spacious loft where another king bed sits alongside a pool table and Multicade arcade unit that has over 60 games including Pac man and Donkey Kong! Any guest will be comfortable staying in this wonderful space with room to spread out and a full bath that even has a Jacuzzi tub over-looking the mountains. Each level of the cabin also has a deck where you can enjoy the views and rock in a country-style rocking chair or take a break in the hot tub. Don’t miss out of the opportunity to stay in this one of a kind custom log home!

Book Dream on High today!

Honeysuckle Meadows pool and deli are available. They offer fishing seasonal outdoor pool pavilion for cooking out and a deli. Open May- October. The fishing pond is catch and release. Pole rentals are only $5 and bait as well is available. You will enjoy a picturesque view from a comfortable lounge chair swimming from 10am – 9pm daily in the large sparkling clean pool and some fabulous food selections from the deli and grill. Bathrooms tables and a kiddie pool are also available for enjoyment. Located less than 3 miles away from your cabin. Entry to the pool pond and pavilion are free for guests.

Amenities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Grill
  • Hot Tub
  • Cable Satellite
  • DVD Player
  • Wifi
  • Pet Friendly

Location

Note: Travel times may vary based on season and area occupancy.

Availability

Host
Cancellation Policy

60 days prior to arrival a refund by Host is available with a 10% cancellation fee. Host does not under any circumstances provide refunds for cancellations requested within 60 days of reservation arrival date.

Traveler Reviews

96 Reviews
4.5 out of 5
Summary
5
73%
4
18%
3
5%
2
5%
1
2%
Sperry, IA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed August, 2018

Great place to stay

Good

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (August 17, 2018):

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back real soon!

Kimberly D.
Stone Mountain, GA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed May, 2015

FABULOUS!!!

THIS WAS OUR 2ND VISIT TO PIGEON FORGE AND THE "DREAM ON HIGH" CABIN. WE WERE THERE IN MARCH AND LOVED IT SO MUCH WE CAME BACK IN MAY. THE CABIN WAS IN GOOD, CLEAN CONDITION, AND REALLY MADE US FEEL LIKE WE WERE AT HOME AWAY FROM HOME. THE VIEW WAS AMAZING AND OUR FAV THING WAS THE HOT TUB! WE ARE ALREADY THINKING ABOUT THE NEXT TIME WE WANT TO COME BACK.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (May 14, 2015):

Thank you for taking the time to fill out this survey and for choosing Eden Crest Vacation rentals as your vacation destination. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. The team here is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon!

Jason C.
Livermore, KY
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed November, 2018

Amazing!!!

We have zero complaints. Everything was perfect for our honeymoon!!!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (November 12, 2018):

We are very honored that you chose us for such a special occasion! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Eden Crest. Our staff strive very hard to make our guests vacation experience the best that it can be. We always love to hear such great positive feedback. We look forward to having you come stay with us again.

Ryan G.
Shelby, NORTH CAROLINA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed August, 2017

Mountain therapy

We had a great time this year at Dream on High. The cabin was spotless, all of the amenities worked flawlessly, the view was fantastic a usual. My only complaint is that we didn't stay longer! Thank you Eden Crest.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (August 08, 2017):

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Eden Crest. Our staff strive very hard to make our guests vacation experience the best that it can be. We always love to hear such great positive feedback. We look forward to having you come stay with us again.

Joshua B.
Woodlawn, TN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed July, 2017

Peaceful

Very peaceful.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (July 11, 2017):

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back real soon!

Starla H.
Norfolk, VA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed August, 2016

We didn't want to leave.

We absolutely loved our stay with Eden Crest in Dream on High cabin. The drive up to the cabin was a little rough for us low country people but once we got to the cabin it was worth it. The cabin was beautiful and the views were stunning. The property was well maintained and beautiful. The pool was breathtaking. We also saw bears every single day, which was a little scary, but all the neighbors were communicating with each other and that helped to make us feel safe. Everything about our stay was perfect.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (September 30, 2016):

Thank you for taking the time to fill out this survey and for choosing Eden Crest Vacation rentals as your vacation destination. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. The team here is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon!

Matt I.
Spencer, IN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
1 out of 5
Reviewed May, 2017

Could have been better

We spent a lot of time looking at cabins and chose dream on high for our vacation because it is pet friendly cabin, when we made the reservation we were informed that are that our dog was on a dangerous breed list, we have a very good kennel to leave him with so that was not a problem other than the extra expense for our vacation. Towards the end of our stay we saw an Australian shepherd in our resort(same breed as ours), the next day I questioned if are dog was actually on a dangerous breed list and was told it was not, meaning we should have been able to bring our dog with us, we ask that Eden Crest reimburse us for kennel fee since we had been given bad information, after numerous times of being told we would be called back and had not received a call, we called back and their offer to fix the situation was a gift certificate for next time we stayed, we felt that was unacceptable and was told we could not get a refund because the cabin owners didn't want to, even though it should have been refunded by Eden Crest because it was their employees' mistake. Also found the upstairs bedding was covered in fur, they did bring clean bedding but we had to make it ourselves. The view is not that amazing, it is partially blocked by 2 trees and they do not mention it is facing away from Mt. Lecont, still enjoyed other parts of our trip but this was not a highlight, it could have been better!

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (August 18, 2017):

Thank you for your recent stay at Eden Crest. We are terribly sorry to hear about the problems you encountered during this stay and have shared your feedback with our management team. We do apologize for the misunderstanding with the dog, it was a new vacation planner who just knew that certain shepherds were not allowed. Please know we will work hard to correct the issues you have brought to our attention. Again, we apologize.

Donna C.
Brandon, MS
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
3 out of 5
Reviewed December, 2018

Just okay

The location, view, and amenities were as described. The Christmas tree was a nice touch. However it most definitely could have been cleaner, I know I left the property, especially the kitchen area a lot cleaner than I found it. Also, I booked on line and stated I would be bringing two small dogs, I spoke with a representative at least once and maybe twice, always stating I had pets traveling with me. I received an email the day prior stating I needed to either stop at the office or snap a photo at the property of the pets and kennel. The photo to prove the size of the pets I understood BUT that was the first mention of a kennel. We do not own one, have never crates our pets. There was some discussion as to whether we would be allowed to bring them, if no our trip would have had to be canceled. This is something your representative needs to make clear before hand. Was told the misunderstanding was because I booked on line. Good idea to address this.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (December 13, 2018):

We are very sorry to hear that you had any issues. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. You should of been told about the pet crate when we spoke with you confirming the reservation. We will speak with the agent and use it as a coaching opportunity. As for any cleaning oversights we are sorry. The cleaners will return to address any issues or oversights if they are reported when you check-in. In the future we would respectfully request that you let us know about any issues so that we can remedy them for you in a timely manner. Keeping this in mind we know that your next visit can be one that you truly enjoy!

Heather P.
Indian Trail, NC
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
2 out of 5
Reviewed January, 2017

Mixed Review

The Good - The cabin was beautiful and had a wonderful view. Our kids enjoyed the second floor gaming area.The Bad - The sauna pictured does not work. The on/off button can't even be used. Not sure why you would picture the sauna if it was not operable. This unit is listed as "Dogs Allowed". We considered bringing our dog and had indicated on signing up for this rental that we would be bringing our dog. Luckily, we left our dog with our neighbors during our stay, as upon arrival at this cabin there were signs indicating "No Pets". Why list this unit as pet friendly and then have signs that say no pets? Our family also has follicultis from the hot tub. Upon returning my son and I noticed red welts on our bodies. Went to the Dr. today and the Dr. asked if we had been in a hot tub recently. We had - at this cabin. Now we have folliculitis from the hot tub. Overall these things did not ruin our vacation; however, we won't be staying at this cabin again.

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (January 16, 2017):

Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. We do apologize for the disappointment you experienced while staying with us over the hot tubs. We are very sorry to hear that you had any issues. We hope that you will accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience you experienced and appreciate your willingness to visit us again. We look forward to seeing you in the near the future.

Pontotoc, MS
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed November, 2017

Amazing!!!

Best vacation ever! We will book again!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (November 28, 2017):

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Eden Crest. Our staff strive very hard to make our guests vacation experience the best that it can be. We always love to hear such great positive feedback. We look forward to having you come stay with us again.