Pool Movie 1 - Gatlinburg Cabin

Private Heated Indoor Pool And Theater Room - Sleeps 18 Guests
Gatlinburg, TN, US
4.0 (42 Reviews)
Cabin
Sleeps 18
6 Bedrooms
6.5 Baths
WiFi
No Pets
You won’t be charged yet.

The Cabin

  • Property type: Cabin
  • Sleeps: 18
  • Bedrooms: 6
  • Bathrooms: 6.5
  • Smoking: Non-smoking
  • Beds: King: 4, Queen: 1, Sofa Bed: 1, Bunk: 2
  • Check In Time: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out Time: 10:00 AM
  • Min Renter Age: 21+
  • No Pets

Description

Enjoy the ultimate mountain experience with your family and friends at the Pool Movie 1 cabin located just 5 minutes from world class hiking near the Cosby entrance to the Smoky Mountain National Park. Your group may never want to leave! You will enjoy gathering in the theater room with tiered theater seating and 9 foot theater screen with surround sound, playing video games or pool in the game wait for it. Yes, splashing in your own private indoor heated pool.

This cabin sleeps a total of 18 guests and includes a fully equipped kitchen for in cabin meals as well as a gas grill. Free WIFI and a washer/dryer are included.

Bedroom Configuration:

Lower Level - Bedroom 1: King Bed - Sleeps 2  

Lower Level - Bedroom 2: King Bed - Sleeps 2  

Great Room: Queen Sleeper Sleeps - Sleeps 2  

Upper Level - Bedroom 3: King Bed - Sleeps 2  

Upper Level - Bedroom 4: King Bed - Sleeps 2  

Upper Level - Bedroom 5: Queen Bed - Sleeps 2  

Upper Level - Bedroom 6: Twin Bunk - Sleeps 2 ( or 4 kids)

Upper Level - Game Room: Queen Bunk - Sleeps 2 ( or 4 kids)

Amenities

  • DVD Player
  • Cable Satellite
  • Air Conditioning
  • Washer Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet Access
  • Dishwasher
  • Nearby Grocery
  • Grill
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
  • Private Pool
  • Wifi

Location

Note: Travel times may vary based on season and area occupancy.

Availability

Host
Policies

Host Cancellation Policy

If you cancel your reservation 15 or more days prior to your arrival date a voucher for a future stay will be issued by host in the amount of the deposit less the reservation fee for use for a future stay within 365 days of the date of cancellation. If you cancel your reservation 14 days or less prior to arrival you will be responsible for the full reservation amount (you will forfeit the full deposit amount and the non-refundable reservation fee, and shall be responsible for the remaining rent amount and all other applicable charges associated with the reservation). Only the Guest named on the Agreement may cancel a reservation and cancellations must be made by phone call to Hosts Office.

Plans can be changed before 14 days prior to the scheduled check in with no penalty. No changes are permitted within 14 days of check in.

SmokyMountains.com Service Fee Cancellation Policy

If you choose to cancel or not use your reservation, the SmokyMountains.com Service Fee is always non-refundable.

Traveler Reviews

42 Reviews
4.0 out of 5
Summary
5
62%
4
20%
3
8%
2
0%
1
12%
Peoria, IL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed July, 2019

Wonderful House!

Our group of 18 had a wonderful stay at Pool Movie 1. The home has plenty of room and bathrooms. The indoor pool was a hit with the kids as was the large theater room and the pool table. I would recommend this for large families. Our concerns were addressed Immediately by the management and their staff was kind and helpful.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (July 31, 2019):

We appreciate your business and your fantastic review, Judith. We certainly agree! Pool Movie 1 is a beautiful cabin with several top-notch amenities for everyone to enjoy throughout their visit. The private indoor pool is great for relaxing and the location is great for visiting local area attractions and The Great Smoky Mountains National Park. It is a pleasure to hear that everyone had such a great time, and we hope you will make plans to visit with Elk Springs again very soon. Remember as returning customers you will enjoy 10% off future bookings! Hurry back, a new adventure awaits!

Ashley M.
Atlanta, GA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
1 out of 5
Reviewed December, 2017

The Worst I’ve seen So Far

The cabin smelled like it hadn’t been rented or occupied for a while. The pool was very dirty the dirt was sitting in the middle of the bottom pool floor. The used our theater room as a storage area for bed rails, drawers and etc. there was suppose to be 3 sofas in the theater and it was only one with a big hole in it and it was duck taped shut. One of the bedrooms had no bed frames or headboards it was two mattresses on the floor for sleeping. And that was suppose to be a full functioning bedroom. Also one of the cable boxes wasn’t compatible with the tv so that room had no cable at all we had to move the tv from the great room in order to watch tv. And the TVs were the size of lab tops very small and hard to see.

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (December 28, 2017):

We appreciate your honest review, Ashley. I am sorry to hear you experienced these issues. We think you will be pleasantly surprised with the improvements we have made and continue to make. We hope you will consider giving us the opportunity to show you a true 5-Star experience during your next visit.

Donald H.
Garrison, MD
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed June, 2020

Pool Movie 1

Check in was horrible. Our cabin wasn't ready until 7pm. Ww drove 8 hours to have to sit another 4 hours in the heat with several children and food that needed to be refrigerated. Management had the nerve to rush us out during check out. Besides checking in and out the cabin and the stay was amazing.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (June 19, 2020):

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Donald. We are pleased that you enjoyed your cabin stay. Pool Movie 1 is a beautiful cabin with lots of great modern amenities for everyone to enjoy. It is regrettable that you experienced check-in delays. We appreciate your patience during the recent pandemic our staff is limited and we are still upholding the same standard of excellence. In an attempt to avoid confusion, we do send out emails and we note in our reservation agreement that check-in delays are possible and that we send updates throughout your check-in day. Again, we apologize for the delay and hope that you enjoyed your Smoky Mountain getaway.

Kiley P.
Springfield, OH
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed May, 2019

Amazing family getaway.

Lots of space and very clean. My only suggestion is to bring outside seating there was very little of that.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (May 30, 2019):

Thank you for your kind review, Kiley! We appreciate your suggestion as well. It would be a pleasure to serve you again in the future. Please keep in mind, as repeat visitors you will enjoy 10% off all future bookings. Hurry back, a new adventure awaits!

Riverdale, GA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed June, 2019

Best Birthday experience ever

We came down to celebrate my husband birthday and it was one of the best experiences ever. We live the rooms, how spacious the cabin was and the highlight was the pool..... We will be booking again.. We had so many people asking us about it this cabin. Looking to book again within the next couple of months. Only downfall is we were 40-50 mins from downtown Gatlinburg

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (June 12, 2019):

Thank you for allowing us to be a part of such a special celebration, Tyhanna! It is a pleasure to hear that you and your friends had such a great visit with us. You certainly chose a beautiful cabin with lots of great amenities and plenty of space for everyone to relax and enjoy some time away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We do have several cabins to choose from, and I am sure one of our experienced Reservation Specialists will be happy to help you find a cabin closer to downtown Gatlinburg for your next visit. We look forward to working with you again soon. We encourage guests to book direct and save up to 15% on your booking. Hurry back, a new adventure awaits!

Bradley M.
Sugarloaf, PA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
1 out of 5
Reviewed October, 2019

Our NOT so luxury cabin rental

Pulling up the first thing we see is garbage in the yard, garbage bags in the bushes, cans, bottles etc. We rented the cabin because of the indoor pool and it was very cloudy. They sent someone out to treat it but it never cleared up, he even said it probably wouldn't clear up before we left. We found and killed several cockroaches in the cabin and went out and bought roach spray and roach traps. The downstairs beds were so uncomfortable we couldn't sleep. Several of the bathroom shower curtains were moldy. We reported this privately in a message and got no response back. We were so disappointed, and we were traveling with a disabled adult and a toddler with a serious heart defect. We actually took him on vacation because he will be having open heart surgery at the end of the month. We took pictures of the garbage and pool and bugs. I would definitely NOT call this a luxury cabin.

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (October 03, 2019):

Bradley, we are very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. The cabin was inspected by quality assurance the morning of your arrival. At that time, there was no trash in the yard. However, there is bear activity in the area and they do get into trash from neighboring cabins and create a mess. We have bear proof trash bins at all of our cabins and the trash is collected by the cleaning staff when the cabins are cleaned. Our staff also picks up any visible trash on the grounds around the cabin. As far as the roach issue, what you probably witnessed was a wood beetle, which are very prevalent in the area. Our cabins are treated on a regular basis and if a pest issue is reported, the pest control tech is immediately sent out to treat the cabin for that particular problem. As for the shower curtains, again, something that is inspected by quality assurance. If there is any mold present, that cannot be removed with bleach, the shower curtain liners are replaced. The pool techs worked diligently to resolve your pool issue and you were kept informed of the situation. We welcome the opportunity to correct any issues you may have with your stay. The trash, pests, cleaning issues could have all been handled by our staff to make your stay more enjoyable. It was not our intention for you to be dissatisfied. We appreciate your feedback and will work harder to ensure we are providing our guests with luxury accommodations in the future.

Deidra G.
Manchester, TN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed January, 2019

Pool Movie 1

We had a great time during our stay. This is a very roomy cabin. It was very clean and all was well with during our stay. Elk Springs has never steered us wrong! The only minor issue is that it was a bit of a drive to Pigeon Forge from this particular cabin.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (January 04, 2019):

Thank you for your wonderful review, Deidra! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Pool Movie 1 is certainly an exceptional cabin to relax and enjoy a memorable get-away. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Ashley W.
Antioch, TN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed February, 2019

Katherine bday

Everything was up to par and exactly like we expected it to be...

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (February 26, 2019):

Thank you for your wonderful review, Ashley! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Remember, as a repeat visitor you will save 10% on future stays. Thank you!

Julie M.
Dalzell, SC
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
1 out of 5
Reviewed August, 2020

Horrible Experience -Spend your money somewhere else

The cabin was filthy, it smelled of smoke, the bathtubs were disgusting and we found blunt wrappers and baggies under a couch. The pots and pans were dirty and teflon was coming off, trash can was burnt and broken, mop was broken, indoor pool never got hot, air return was covered in dirt and all vents were full of trash and dirt. The ice dispenser and water dispenser were molded, the jacuzzi tub had brown foam when filled. COVID-19 is not a priority to this company even after numerous emails talking about how they were doing special things to prevent the spread of this pandemic.

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (August 04, 2020):

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay, Julie. It appears that you have been in contact with management to address your concerns. Our team was prompt and professional during all interaction with you and your family and we want nothing else but to ensure our guests have a fantastic experience. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.

Detroit, MI
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed January, 2019

New Years Joy

My stay at pool movie 1 was awesome! My family as well enjoyed the stay. Staff was there for us promptly. Recommend the use of Elk Springs Resort to any family or friend. Property location scary road to travel at night lots of curves.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (January 06, 2019):

Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your New Year's celebration, Sylvia. Pool Movie 1 is truly a beautiful cabin to relax in and enjoy the many available top-notch amenities. You certainly chose a beautiful place to create memories that are sure to last a lifetime. We hope you will visit with us again in the near future. Please keep in mind, as repeat visitors you will enjoy 10% off all future bookings. Hurry back, new memories are waiting to be made!