Zen Garden #1523 - Gatlinburg Cabin

Gatlinburg Log Cabin! Walk To The Park!
Gatlinburg, TN, US
4.0 (36 Reviews)
Cabin
Sleeps 4
1 Bedrooms
1 Baths
WiFi
Pets Allowed
Avg
Nightly
rate
$112 Per Night
You won’t be charged yet.

The Cabin

  • Property type: Cabin
  • Sleeps: 4
  • Bedrooms: 1
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Smoking: Non-smoking
  • Beds: King: 1, Other: 1
  • Check In Time: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out Time: 10:00 AM
  • Min Renter Age: 21+
  • Pets Allowed

Description

ZEN GARDEN is nestled on a hillside with a view of the Smoky Mountains, in a small log home community setting just five minutes from downtown Gatlinburg. Specially designed to be a romantic getaway for two, Zen Garden offers a cozy romantic setting that is just a short walk from the Gatlinburg Community Center which offers many activities including an indoor junior olympic swimming pool, 8 bowling lanes, 4 racquetball courts, walking track, pool tables and much more. If you want to go shopping, the Glades Craft Loop is just a short hop away where you can find local artist working and selling their goods. Drift away to the sounds of nature in your hot tub after a day of hiking or relax indoors in your jetted tub for two while gazing at a beautiful fire. Either way, begin your Smoky Mountain vacation in the Zen Garden - reserve it today!

Amenities

  • Pet Friendly
  • Hot Tub
  • Grill
  • Cable Satellite
  • Wifi

Host
Cancellation Policy

No shows will forfeit any monies put down.

All group stays (2 or more cabins), 4 bedroom stays and larger, and stays totaling $1200.00 or more must prepay their stay 30 days in advance. No refunds or changes for cancellation of these stays.

Other than those listed above, you can cancel or change your reservations with this host. Cancellation must be at least 30 days prior to arrival in writing. A $120 cancellation fee is deducted from prepayment, no exceptions. There are no refunds or cancellations less than 30 days prior to arrival for any reason. All stays are prepaid 30 days prior to your arrival.

To change a confirmed reservation, you must give at least a 30 day notice to the host and stay within 6 months of original arrival date. A $35 fee will be charged and your stay must be prepaid in full and no refund if reservation is cancelled. Reservations that are changed with the host cannot be changed or cancelled for any reason. No credit will be issued for unused portions of time in case of late arrival or early departure.

Traveler Reviews

36 Reviews
4.0 out of 5
Summary
5
45%
4
20%
3
20%
2
6%
1
12%
Christopher G.
Chapin, SC
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed September, 2018

WAY NICER THAN EXPECTED

Impromptu escape from Hurricane Florence, my wife and 5 month old baby girl rented this cabin and headed out. We were pleasantly surprised. WELL kept, very clean, great value, both tubs were awesome, secluded but close to everything. We will be renting it again for Xmas shopping season.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (September 24, 2018):

We look forward to seeing you again real soon, and make sure to mention you are a repeat guest for additional savings. Thank you for the valuable feedback!

Lois H.
Grassy Meadows, WV
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed September, 2018

Our stay was really nice and relaxing, which is what we wanted.

The rental experience was really good, the agent was very helpful. I didn't book the cabin until the day before we were due to start our vacation, so no problem what so ever. The coffee pot didn't work, so they gave us a new one. Everything was quiet and peaceful. Just beautiful, the cabin was very clean too.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (September 23, 2018):

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that one of our staff members could be a great assistant in the reservation process. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and make sure to mention you are a repeat guest for additional savings at booking. Thank you for the valuable feedback.

Dhaval F.
Woodridge, NJ
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
1 out of 5
Reviewed September, 2018

Wouldn’t stay again at same place

After spending $400 you cannot get worst service than this. There was curtain missing on the main balcony window which expose everything so no such thing as privacy and they call this cabin as honeymoon cabin. housekeeping service wasn’t responsive as such. And when I ask for refund they say they don’t have such policies. Bed sheets were absolutely dirty.

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (September 07, 2018):

We do apologize that your stay was not perfect, and we hope you will give us another chance. Make sure to mention you are a repeat guest for additional savings. Thank you for the valuable feedback!

Eastampton, NJ
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed July, 2018

Perfect little get away !

This rental is beautiful! Everything was clean and cozy, as well as welcoming. The employees we spoke to were incredibly kind. We had no issues what so ever and it was nice cabin to spend the week in with myself my boyfriend our toddler and dog. There’s a park right down the street to take our dog and kid to so it was perfect ! Will definitely consider staying here again next time we come to the Smoky Mountains !

Would recommend to others? Yes
Florence, AL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
3 out of 5
Reviewed May, 2018

Zen Garden Stay Gatlinburg

The cabin was ready before check in time which was great. Check in was easy and the ladies at the office were very nice. Coming in to the cabin there was a odor that was displeasing. Maybe some carpet cleaning needed to be done. It seemed to be cleaned well though. Two of our outlets weren’t in working order. The outlet on the deck for the electric grill was one that didn’t work so that was a problem since we had planned on grilling out. The jacuzzi tub was great. Worked well and was very relaxing. The only thing that was much of an issue was that this cabin is pet friendly but not enough places for pets to do their businesses.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Brevard, NC
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed April, 2018

Very Pleasant Experience and Would Recommend!

Having read a number of reviews post-reservation, I admit I was a bit worried as there were a number of negative ones. However, upon arrival and inspection, there were absolutely no problems at all! Late arrival was easily set up; very professional and pleasant customer service, as well as maintenance (the smoke alarm needed a new battery, they arrived and repaired it promptly); and the place was both clean and comfortable. Less isolated than images suggest, but overall it was a pleasant experience and I'd definitely recommend this property!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Shirley W.
Portsmouth, OH
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed November, 2017

Nice cabin

Nice place to stay aND cozy.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Saint Louis, MO
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed October, 2017

Reese & Vicki's Zen Getaway

Our Zen Garden cabin was very comfy and cozy. We loved the view of the Smoky's from our deck. The hot tub and Jacuzzi were awesome in the cool October evenings. Our dogs felt at home in this pet friendly cabin! There were a few cobwebs but mostly it was very clean. Thanks to the staff and all who helped make our vacation a memorable experience! We will be back!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (November 01, 2017):

Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your experience with us! We are so happy that you enjoyed your trip to the Great Smoky Mountains, and your stay at our cabin rental! We appreciate you, and look forward to your next stay with us!

Teresa P.
Mishawaka, IN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed September, 2017

Smoky Montain Vaction

We enjoyed the stay in are cabin. There was a couple of thing that were wrong in the cabin. The smoke detector was hanging loose with the wires holding it up and cob webs in the bathroom and kitchen other then that it was a great stay. Mangers were very friendly. I would recommend this property to my friends.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (October 05, 2017):

Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your experience with us! We are so happy that you enjoyed your trip to the Great Smoky Mountains, and your stay at our cabin rental! We appreciate you, and look forward to your next stay with us!

Columbus, IN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
1 out of 5
Reviewed July, 2017

Terrible stay

Hot tub was stuck registering 109 degrees and felt hotter than that so we couldn't use it which was the biggest reason we rented a cabin. Was told it was pet friendly yet there was no place on the property for the dog to use the bathroom which made me stress out. The jacuzzi tub wasn't working the first night but maintainence got it working the second day. Then that second evening the AC went out and it wasn't able to be fixed. We ended up having to get a hotel room. Luckily there was a pet friendly room left in town. Then we ended our stay one day early because of all this. Didn't have the money to book another night. Also there was a rocking chair on the front deck that was broken so I had to lean forward to sit on it because the back of it was broken. The grill was dirty too.

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (July 20, 2017):

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing feedback about your experience with this cabin rental. We are sorry for any inconveniences that you encountered with this cabin, during your stay. Your information is greatly appreciated and will be helpful to us in creating a more positive experience for future guests of this cabin. The water heater at this cabin was replaced prior to your stay, and may be the odor you expressed concern with. Thanks, again! We hope you enjoyed your trip to the Great Smoky Mountains!

Map