Mountain Memory #711 - Gatlinburg Cabin

2 Bedroom Smoky Mountain Chalet With Hot Tub, Close To Downtown Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg, TN, US
3.5 (56 Reviews)
Cabin
Sleeps 6
2 Bedrooms
1.5 Baths
WiFi
Pets Allowed
You won’t be charged yet.

The Cabin

  • Property type: Cabin
  • Sleeps: 6
  • Bedrooms: 2
  • Bathrooms: 1.5
  • Smoking: Non-smoking
  • Beds: Queen: 2, Other: 1
  • Check In Time: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out Time: 10:00 AM
  • Min Renter Age: 21+
  • Pets Allowed

Description

This cozy two bedroom, one and a half bath chalet is nestled in Gatlinburg, minutes from the downtown area. If you are a family on a budget this is perfect for you, as you can enjoy all the amenities at a price you can afford. In season you can enjoy the use of the resort pool, or for those cold nights you will enjoy snuggling up beside the fireplace. Take in the beautiful view from the hot tub on your deck, or spend some time relaxing in your heart-shaped jacuzzi. This cabin is pet friendly, so you won't have to leave your 4-legged friend out of the excitement! Register Pets (small house-trained dogs 45 lb or less) for $75 pet fee each at time of booking/arrival. Bring your family to the Smokies and make Mountain Memory you won't soon forget! Price is based on 4 adults, each additional adult is $12.50 per night.

Amenities

  • Cable Satellite
  • Internet Access
  • Dishwasher
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Pet Friendly
  • Hot Tub
  • Resort Pool
  • Grill
  • Wifi
  • Pet Friendly

Availability

Host
Cancellation Policy

No shows will forfeit any monies put down.

All group stays (2 or more cabins), 4 bedroom stays and larger, and stays totaling $1200.00 or more must prepay their stay 30 days in advance. No refunds or changes for cancellation of these stays.

Other than those listed above, you can cancel or change your reservations with this host. Cancellation must be at least 30 days prior to arrival in writing. A $120 cancellation fee is deducted from prepayment, no exceptions. There are no refunds or cancellations less than 30 days prior to arrival for any reason. All stays are prepaid 30 days prior to your arrival.

To change a confirmed reservation, you must give at least a 30 day notice to the host and stay within 6 months of original arrival date. A $35 fee will be charged and your stay must be prepaid in full and no refund if reservation is cancelled. Reservations that are changed with the host cannot be changed or cancelled for any reason. No credit will be issued for unused portions of time in case of late arrival or early departure.

Traveler Reviews

56 Reviews
3.5 out of 5
Summary
5
33%
4
24%
3
11%
2
17%
1
18%
Joe B.
Moulton, AL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed March, 2019

Great stay. Loved it.

We had a great time loved the cabin and the staff was very friendly and helpful .we will be back.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Martinsburg, WV
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed March, 2019

Awesome experience

Everything was great. Only thing had a problem with was the mat at the front door. Since there was no gripping under it ice had evidently built up and my daughter took a bad fall. Just a suggestion for future might want to replace with a better grip. Other than that perfect

Would recommend to others? Yes
Smyrna, TN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
2 out of 5
Reviewed October, 2018

Our stay Sept 218

The place was great as far as really quite. There was a great hot tube, and TV's in each room. The location was fantastic; driving thru the woods was wonderful. However, the cabin needs major fixing. Lots of loss, kind of broken bits here and there. The furniture was very old. The deck outside was so slippery you had to be very careful walking around outside. There was no dish liquid for the dishwasher. The view in the pictures must have been back when the cabin was built as all trees have grown above the view. They should update all pictures.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (December 10, 2018):

Terry, We wish to thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. Feedback from our guests is very important to the development of our staff and cabins. We were saddened to learn that we failed to provide you with a clean, comfortable, and enjoyable cabin and would like to remind you that we are always willing to address issues that are brought to our attention. We will be sure to address the issues you mentioned to the appropriate persons so we can prevent them from interfering with any of our future guests. Again, thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We hope this shortfall does not prevent you from allowing us to provide you with your home away from home in the Great Smoky Mountains. Sincerely, Aunt Bug's Cabin Rentals

Lester C.
North Canton, OH
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed August, 2018

Peacefulness on the Mountain

Loved the cabin, exactly as described,as a mater of fact the cabin had more room then we expected. Ver uh clean. Will be back one day. Note if renting a cabin find it during day light hours. Very hard to find after dark.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (August 26, 2018):

We are glad to hear that you had a good stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again real soon. Thank you.

Laplace, LA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed June, 2018

Cabin rental, Gatlinburg, TN

Very pleasant vacation. Had a great time. Thanks!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (July 04, 2018):

Vernon, Thank you for your stay in Mountain Memory! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks, Katie

Jason M.
Monroe, GA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
3 out of 5
Reviewed March, 2018

Didn't have a problem with y'all owners need to check on cabins m

My kids liked it

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (March 07, 2018):

Jason, Thank you for staying at Aunt Bugs. We hope your enjoy your cabin Mountain Memory. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on the cabin. We are looking forward to your future visit to Smoky Mountains. Thanks, Tim

Bennington, IN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed November, 2017

Mountain Memory #711

I believe the road would be very unsafe in case of an emergency due to steep, winding nature, sharp curves, deep drop offs. Some lightbulbs burned out.Appliances very clean and in working order.Lots of trash off balcony.Pets loved the area.

Would recommend to others? No
William G.
Ellabell, GA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed August, 2017

Wonderful cabin

This is a wonderful place to stay. Scenic view, secluded, clean. Can't wait for the time to go back

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (August 23, 2017):

Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your experience with us! We are so happy that you enjoyed your trip to the Great Smoky Mountains, and your stay at our cabin rental! We appreciate you, and look forward to your next stay with us!

Ronald P.
Christiansburg, VA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed August, 2017

Fun getaway in the mountains

We had a good experience with aunt bugs the staff was helpful and courteous. Cabin was clean but needed a few minor repairs. Would definitely consider staying again

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (August 14, 2017):

we are happy to hear that you had such a great experience here at the great smokey mountains we do appreciate you staying with us and hope to see u again

Christine S.
Pensacola, FL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
1 out of 5
Reviewed July, 2017

mountain memory 711

The cabin is cute until you REEKS of mold !!!!!! We all ended up coughing with headaches from the poor air quality ....

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (July 12, 2017):

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing feedback about your experience with this cabin rental. We are sorry for any inconveniences that you encountered with this cabin, during your stay. Your information is greatly appreciated and will be helpful to us in creating a more positive experience for future guests of this cabin. The water heater at this cabin was replaced prior to your stay, and may be the odor you expressed concern with. Thanks, again! We hope you enjoyed your trip to the Great Smoky Mountains!

Map