Big Bear Lodge - Gatlinburg Cabin

7 Bedroom Cabin - Sleeps 34 - Mountain View
Gatlinburg, TN, US
4.0 (64 Reviews)
Cabin
Sleeps 34
7 Bedrooms
6 Baths
WiFi
No Pets
You won’t be charged yet.

The Cabin

  • Property type: Cabin
  • Sleeps: 34
  • Bedrooms: 7
  • Bathrooms: 6
  • Smoking: Non-smoking
  • Beds: King: 6, Queen: 6, Sofa Bed: 5
  • Check In Time: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out Time: 10:00 AM
  • Min Renter Age: 21+
  • No Pets

Description

You and 33 of your closest friends and family will enjoy a memorable vacation at Big Bear Lodge located on the edge of the Arts and Crafts Community. Just 20 Minutes to Downtown Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge you are just a short ride away from all the attractions. That is if you get bored of playing pool, Foosball and air hockey while gathering with your friends and family.

Relax on one of the many decks and enjoy a dip in the hot tub.

You enter on the middle level of this cabin.

Bedroom and Sleeping Arrangements:

(UL = Upper Level, ML = Middle Level, LL = Lower level)

UL Suite 1: King Bed - Sleeps 2

UL Suite 1: Queen Bed - Sleeps 2

UL Suite 2: King Bed - Sleeps 2

UL Suite 2: Queen Bed - Sleeps 2

UL Game Room: Queen Sleeper - Sleeps 2

UL Game Room: Queen Sleeper - Sleeps 2

ML Suite 1: King Bed - Sleeps 2

ML Suite 1: Queen Bed - Sleeps 2

ML Suite 2: King Bed - Sleeps 2

ML Suite 2: Queen Bed - Sleeps 2

ML Suite 3: Queen Bed - Sleeps 2

ML Game Room: Queen Sleeper - Sleeps 2

ML Game Room: Queen Sleeper - Sleeps 2

LL Suite 1: King Bed - Sleeps 2

LL Suite 1: Queen Bed - Sleeps 2

LL Suite 2: King Bed - Sleeps 2

LL Great Room: Queen Sleeper - Sleeps 2

Amenities

  • DVD Player
  • Cable Satellite
  • Air Conditioning
  • Washer Dryer
  • Internet Access
  • Dishwasher
  • Mountain View
  • Fireplace
  • Hot Tub
  • Grill
  • Nearby Grocery
  • Near Dollywood
  • Wifi

Location

Note: Travel times may vary based on season and area occupancy.

Availability

Host
Cancellation Policy

If you cancel your reservation 15 or more days prior to your arrival date a voucher for a future stay will be issued by host in the amount of the deposit less the reservation fee for use for a future stay within 365 days of the date of cancellation. If you cancel your reservation 14 days or less prior to arrival you will be responsible for the full reservation amount (you will forfeit the full deposit amount and the non-refundable reservation fee, and shall be responsible for the remaining rent amount and all other applicable charges associated with the reservation). Only the Guest named on the Agreement may cancel a reservation and cancellations must be made by phone call to Hosts Office.

Plans can be changed before 14 days prior to the scheduled check in with no penalty. No changes are permitted within 14 days of check in.

Traveler Reviews

64 Reviews
4.0 out of 5
Summary
5
60%
4
21%
3
8%
2
7%
1
7%
Celina, TN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed December, 2016

Big Bear worth the trip

Lots of room. Comfortable cabin.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (January 31, 2017):

Thank you for your review! We do hope that your will consider Elk Springs Resort for future vacations.

Darren M.
Smyrna, TN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed June, 2017

Big Bear Lodge

Positives:Lots of beds, big decks, plenty of space, a large hot tub,nice theater screen, and plenty of seating in the kitchen.Negatives:The wifi signal/connection was weak, the main refrigerator leaked, the televisions were very outdated, the air hockey didn't work, and the kitchen was small.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (June 14, 2017):

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, Darren. We welcome all feedback, as it helps us to ensure each visit is exceptional. We are happy to hear you enjoyed so many aspects of this extraordinary property. We are sorry to hear you experienced these issues during your stay. Our maintenance technicians were alerted to the issues with the refrigerator and air hockey after your departure. The drain tube was found to be clogged on the refrigerator. The technician was able to complete the repair to stop the leak. The technician was not able to repair the air hockey table, a new one has been ordered and will be installed at the cabin upon arrival. The WiFi was working while our technician was at the cabin. Although there was not an issue during his visit, we will continue to monitor the internet connection. Please do not hesitate to contact us during your stay should you discover you need our assistance. We provide 24/7 guest assistance to ensure any need that arises can be handled quickly. Please don't suffer, call us. We love assisting our guests! We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience experienced and hope you will consider staying with us again during your next visit to The Great Smoky Mountains.

Louis G.
Victoria, MN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed July, 2014

Family Reunion 2014

What a beautiful cabin, very secluded with a great view, away from all the hustle bustle of Pigeon Ford. We had 14 people, the accommodations were perfect, plenty of bathrooms and bedrooms for all, 2 game rooms, wrap around porches on each of the 3 floors, and a huge kitchen table gave everyone the space they needed. Cabin was in very good shape, Kitchen was fully furnished and there was plenty of space to move around, TV setup was a bit flaky and cut out regularly but, the view solved that.( we didn't watch much TV)I checked out the community pool (shared by a few cabins), it was very clean an warm, great for kids but a hike to get to if walking.As for the management company, I give them 10 stars, they were completely accommodating and attentive. They checked up on us the first day to ensure we got checked in and situated. I would recommend renting any property from them. Nice Work!Lou Gagliardi and the rest of the Gagliardi clan.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Tamara C.
Gretna , LA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed June, 2014

Family Vacation at Big Bear Lodge

The property was amazing, clean, comfortable and very spacious. The only concern was the drive into the cabin, which was up a very steep hills. The cabin was secluded and would be great for those who want to get away from the everyday world.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Crystal L.
Spring Hill, TN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed March, 2017

Pretty Good Cabin

I rented the cabin for a combined bachelor/bachelorette party. We had 18 people and were very comfortable except the kitchen is super small and is missing a cookie sheet if you plan to cook!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (March 29, 2017):

Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your special celebration, Crystal! Big Bear Lodge is the perfect cabin for a large group to gather and enjoy a weekend away. Thank you for bringing the missing cookie sheet to our attention. We will send out a replacement with our housekeepers. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you find that you are missing any items during your stay. We keep kitchen supplies in stock and welcome the opportunity to correct anything that may have been overlooked. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and hope you will consider staying with us again during your next visit to Gatlinburg.

Columbus, OH
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
2 out of 5
Reviewed June, 2016

Great house - frustrating company.

I honestly had more problems with the rental company than the property. The house itself was great! Reserving, paying, and check-in were a breeze, but we ran into some maintenance issues late on our first night and went back and forth with the company over the course of our stay. Long story short, we found bed bugs in one of the couches late into our first night, so we moved the couch outside and called the company first thing in the AM. A maintenance guy came and looked at it and had us move it to another porch outside - then we never heard from him or the company until Friday. They showed up randomly to check the house for damages (which they didn't find any) but they didn't know about the couch/bed-bug issue and wanted the couch moved back inside ASAP. They also complained about the number of cars we had in the parking area (we had 8 cars - how else do you expect to transport 30+ people?). The weekend people apparently didn't inform the rest of the company about our call on Sunday, so they thought we had just moved the couch outside on a whim. They were more concerned about the couch being rained on than the entire cabin being infested with bed bugs, putting 30 people at risk of taking them home. We ended up coming to a compromise but not without some back and forth. At one point we were about to be kicked out of the house with no refund if we didn't move the couch back in (which came from the owner) - but the owner wasn't told that we found bed bugs in the couch which is why it was outside in the first place. The lack of communication and concern for our comfort was obvious, and I certainly hope that this was an isolated incident. The company kept complaining that they needed to come and deal with the issue at hand and that they "had other things to do than worry about a couch." Arguing with the rental company is not a good way to spend vacation - especially after we drop over 5k to rent a house for a week.

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (June 13, 2017):

First of all, I apologize for the extended delay in our response to this. We do take complaints very seriously. However, there was a breakdown in communication between management and staff. It was brought to our attention that our linens and some cabin items were seen in the outdoor trash container. Since we manage the property, it is our duty to protect the owner's investment and investigate. Upon arrival to the cabin, management did find a couple of sheets belonging to Elk Springs in the trash with some random items smashed inside them. To us, it looked like some sort of partying had gotten completely out of hand and of course, we went to the door to find out what was going on. We were later informed that it was a religious gathering and the items belonged to the guests. They destroyed them as a way of releasing some internal frustrations I was told. The guests did admit to destroying our linens in the process. Upon further investigation, I found a brand new $850 sleeper sofa outside on the deck. Of course, I needed to know why. I was told it was infested with bed bugs. I opened it up to inspect it and the mattress was still wrapped up in the plastic from where it had been recently purchased. There were no signs of bed bugs on, in or near the couch and you were instructed to put it back inside. Long story short, after your departure, the entire cabin was inspected for bed bugs and none were located.

Tammy B.
Fernley, NV
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed November, 2018

Great Experience

Great experience. Only thing is out of towners should be warned about the narrow 1 way road when driving up a mountain to get to the cabin.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (November 21, 2018):

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, Tammy. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your suggestion. We will forward this to the appropriate department. We value you as our guest and will take any steps needed to ensure each visit is relaxing and carefree. We sincerely apologize if this caused any inconvenience and hope you will visit again in the future.

Cumming, GA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
3 out of 5
Reviewed August, 2014

Big Cabin but can become a great cabin after fixing few things

It was a big Cabin and has more than sufficient sleeping space but the grill was very small for such a big cabin accomodating 34 people and also 2/6 of the bathrooms were not locking. Minimum grocery essentials like salt, oil spray & coffee were not provided when compared to our previous cabin experience. It can be a great cabin if these things could be fixed. There was a swimming pool in the cabin pictures but we could not spot one in the cabin vicinity or during our way out/in to Gatlinberg & pigeonforge.

Would recommend to others? No
Tanja M.
Detroit, MI
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed August, 2016

Family reunion

And family wants to do this again. We had so much fun. We had 30 people and it was another room for everyone.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (August 13, 2016):

Thank you for allowing us to be a part of such a wonderful get-together, Tanja! We are delighted to hear your family reunion was a success. We would consider it an honor for you and your family to come back and visit with us again. Hurry back, new memories are waiting to be made!

Courtni R.
Gulfport, MS
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
3 out of 5
Reviewed January, 2017

The Ricks stay

Upon arrival, we saw 1 cleaning person there right at check in time. Eventually others showed up to help out. They finally finished cleaning at 4:44 pm (which was almost 2 hours later than check-in). The cleaners did a bad job. We found urine on the bottom of the toilet seats, a leaky refrigerator, cobwebs, hair everywhere, and crumbs in the sheets. We ended up having to clean everything ourselves and wash all the linens which took a full day away from our vacation. Also found the charcoal grill to be in horrible condition. It looked like a $20 dollar general special but was literally falling about. The pool table had no chalk, the air hockey table was broken, the projector had a red picture, and it stayed cold in the bedrooms because the thermostat would only go up to 73 degrees. Other than that, the vacation was great. The large cabin gave lots of room for the whole family to get together and enjoy the vacation. Beth was very courteous, helpful, and professional.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (January 14, 2017):

Oh my! I am so sorry to hear of all of these issues you had with your stay. It is obvious that the cleaners were running behind, but still no excuse to cut corners. While I understand that you were anxious to start your vacation, we would have made a cleaning crew come back out to clean the areas that were missed. This is not something that you should have been burdened with. The charcoal grill that you are referring to was actually left behind by a previous guest. Our grills are the park style charcoal grills that are cemented into the ground. We do welcome the opportunity to correct any issues while you are our guest. Maintenance could have been to the cabin within 30 minutes to remedy the other issues. Customer satisfaction is very important to us. While, we are never pleased to receive this type of feedback, it helps us to continuously improve our quality assurance. We have taken steps to make sure this does not happen to another guest in the future and hope you will give us an opportunity in the future to show you a 5-star experience!