Big Bear Lodge - Gatlinburg Cabin

7 Bedroom Cabin - Sleeps 34 - Mountain View
Gatlinburg, TN, US
4.0 (47 Reviews)
Cabin
Sleeps 34
7 Bedrooms
6 Baths
WiFi
No Pets

The Cabin

  • Property type: Cabin
  • Sleeps: 34
  • Bedrooms: 7
  • Bathrooms: 6
  • Smoking: Non-smoking
  • Beds: King: 6, Queen: 6, Sofa Bed: 5
  • Check In Time: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out Time: 10:00 AM
  • No Pets

Description

You and 33 of your closest friends and family will enjoy a memorable vacation at Big Bear Lodge located on the edge of the Arts and Crafts Community. Just 20 Minutes to Downtown Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge you are just a short ride away from all the attractions. That is if you get bored of playing pool, Foosball and air hockey while gathering with your friends and family. Relax on one of the many decks and enjoy a dip in the hot tub. Bedroom and Sleeping Arrangements: UL Suite 1: King Bed - Sleeps 2 UL Suite 1: Queen Bed - Sleeps 2 UL Suite 2: King Bed - Sleeps 2 UL Suite 2: Queen Bed - Sleeps 2 UL Game Room: Queen Sleeper - Sleeps 2 UL Game Room: Queen Sleeper - Sleeps 2 ML Suite 1: King Bed - Sleeps 2 ML Suite 1: Queen Bed - Sleeps 2 ML Suite 2: King Bed - Sleeps 2 ML Suite 2: Queen Bed - Sleeps 2 ML Suite 3: Queen Bed - Sleeps 2 ML Game Room: Queen Sleeper - Sleeps 2 ML Game Room: Queen Sleeper - Sleeps 2 LL Suite 1: King Bed - Sleeps 2 LL Suite 1: Queen Bed - Sleeps 2 LL Suite 2: King Bed - Sleeps 2 LL Great Room: Queen Sleeper - Sleeps 2

Amenities

  • Cable Satellite
  • Wifi
  • Washer Dryer
  • Mountain View
  • Theater Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Grill
  • Resort Pool
  • Near Dollywood

Host
Cancellation Policy

If you cancel your reservation 15 or more days prior to your arrival date a voucher for a future stay will be issued by host in the amount of the deposit less the reservation fee for use for a future stay within 365 days of the date of cancellation. If you cancel your reservation 14 days or less prior to arrival you will be responsible for the full reservation amount (you will forfeit the full deposit amount and the non-refundable reservation fee, and shall be responsible for the remaining rent amount and all other applicable charges associated with the reservation). Only the Guest named on the Agreement may cancel a reservation and cancellations must be made by phone call to Hosts Office.

Plans can be changed before 14 days prior to the scheduled check in with no penalty. No changes are permitted within 14 days of check in.

Traveler Reviews

47 Reviews
4.0 out of 5
Summary
5
54%
4
22%
3
11%
2
9%
1
7%
Winston, GA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
2 out of 5
Reviewed June, 2018

Guest

Didn’t meet expectations

Would recommend to others? No
Host Resonse (June 10, 2018):

Thank you for your honest reply. It is regrettable that you did not enjoy your visit. Unfortunately, we do not have any complaints filed from you during your visit. Please keep in mind, we do offer 24/7 staff assistance during your visit, and we are happy to address anything that is not up to par.

Kyle C.
Harrisonburg, VA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed April, 2018

A Phenomenal Getaway

The entire house was more than what we could have expected for a weekend getaway. For the majority of our group, this was our first time in the Smoky Mountains and the views from the Big Bear Lodge made it an exceptional trip. Unfortunately the weather was not cooperative all weekend and we even woke up to snow on the ground on Sunday morning which forced us to have to stay in the lodge the majority of the trip. Thank you so much for providing us with an amazing cabin to have a great weekend.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (April 10, 2018):

Thank you for your kind review, Kyle! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope a lot of precious memories were made during your visit.

Karen A.
Meansville, GA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
1 out of 5
Reviewed March, 2018

Ladies Retreat

We had a beautiful view but were disappointed right away with the way the porch looked. It did not have the amount of rocking chairs as portrayed in the photo and the deck was very weathered. The outside grounds needed cleaning. Beer cans and trash were all around the outside of the cabin. The cabinet door under the kitchen sink was off. When you tried to open the dishwasher, the whole unit came from the wall it was bolted in. The refrigerator would not freeze and cool. We lost two bags of ice and other foods soured. We reported it twice and a small micro refrigerator was brought out. The sink on the second level was cracked. The pool table on the third level was coming apart. There was a broken blade on the fan on the third level. The linens in one of the bedrooms looked like they had not been cleaned. Someone's socks from a previous stay were in the floor in the 3rd level bedroom. We had no hot water for two days. After they came out we were told the pilot light was not lit. It did not appear that the cabin had been cleaned thoroughly. The floors were sticky and rooms were dusty. The staff was helpful in making the reservations and such but this cabin needs some attention on the inside and outside. We determined this must have been a party house from the way it looked.

Would recommend to others? No
Host Resonse (March 22, 2018):

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, Karen. We are sorry to hear you experienced these issues during your stay. We can assure you, this is not indicative of a normal stay with us. We do see that the issues reported during your stay were handled quickly. We do apologize the issue with the refrigerator was not completely repaired on the first report. The technician thought the issue was resolved and we were unaware of the ongoing issue until you called and reported it to us. Usually when there is an issue such as this with the refrigerator, our policy is to bring out a full size loaner refrigerator to ensure your comfort. Since the technician saw that there are 2 full sized refrigerators at this property and the fully functioning one was almost empty, he brought out a mini-fridge to ensure enough space to keep everything cool. We appreciate you bringing the other items to our attention upon your departure. Although we did not have the opportunity to correct these items during your stay, each of these items have been reviewed and fully resolved. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience experienced and hope you enjoyed your time spent in our area in light of these issues.

Charlotte, NC
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed February, 2018

Amazing view

To start off the house was ready earlier than normal check in time so we arrived to a very clean and spacious cabin. Location was great and had an amazing view of the mountain tops with wrap around decks with multiple chairs for everyone. Bedrooms were spotless and two large tables were great for family dinner. Would recommend to anyone looking for a getaway weekend with open floor plans to have everyone be collaborating together.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (February 14, 2018):

Thank you for your fantastic review, Craig! We are so pleased that you and your party enjoyed your stay at Big Bear Lodge. The amazing mountain views and top-notch amenities make this a great cabin to relax and create lasting memories together. We hope you ill make plans to visit with us again very soon. Please keep in mind, as repeat customers you will enjoy 10% off all future bookings!

Lugoff, SC
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed January, 2018

Youth retreat

We had 28 people for a weekend church youth retreat and there was plenty of space and entertainment for the kids. The cabin was well stocked with cooking items and toiletries. The views were amazing. The management was amazing at keeping us up to date on conditions around us (it was December and snowing) and made sure the cabin was up to our standards. The kids enjoyed themselves and would go back again.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (January 04, 2018):

Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your successful retreat, Shannon! We are delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations. We hope that you will make plans to visit us again very soon. Please keep in mind, as repeat customers you will enjoy 10% off all future bookings! Hurry back, new adventure awaits.

Bel Air, MD
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed November, 2017

Recent Stay

Thank you for a wonderful stay at your cabin. We were very pleased with the customer service. Every request was responded to in a timely manner and every phone call returned. The door was mastered with assistance and close reading of directions. Our packages arrived before our party and you were very helpful in securing them until we arrived. We were disappointed that the dishwasher stopped working and the second floor refrigerator thermostat was broken. It remained warm the whole weekend. The cabin does not have as many rocking chairs as pictured and a few of them have broken arms. The views were amazing and our group of 16 were very pleased. Many thanks to your customer service, housekeeping and maintenance personnel.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (November 08, 2017):

It was our pleasure to provide you and your family with a wonderful cabin stay! We certainly appreciate you making us aware of the issues you faced. Your feedback truly helps to ensure we are constantly improving. I can assure you that the proper repairs are being made to the appliances. We hope you will join us again during your next trip to The Great Smoky Mountains. Please keep in mind, as repeat customers you will enjoy 10% off all future bookings!

Danielle M.
Charlotte, NC
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed November, 2017

Cabin Fever 2017

This was the best experience for my family. We had more than enough rooms to enjoy every space in three cabin.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (November 02, 2017):

Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your family getaway! We are delighted that you enjoyed your cabin stay and hope that you will visit us again very soon. Please keep in mind, as returning guests you will enjoy 10% off all future bookings!

Gene H.
Louisville, KY
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed September, 2017

Worth the Drive!

Big Bear Lodge sits at the very end of the access road, but the view, once there, is well worth the steep climb! It was spacious and comfortable furnished, boasting a second eating area on the top floor. Each level had its own veranda, so you could take in the view on every level.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (September 08, 2017):

Thank you for your kind review, Gene. It sound like you chose the perfect cabin to relax and take in the mountains! We hope you will consider visiting Elk Springs Resort during your next trip to Gatlinburg. Remember as returning guests you will enjoy 10% off all future bookings!

Hillsboro, IL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed July, 2017

Big Bear Lodge

Our family of 21 (grandma age 80, 6-age 50 something, 9 age 25-30, and 4 little ones ages 1-5, just returned from Elk Springs Resort- Big Bear Lodge.This property gets a 4.5 star rating from our family. We would all go back and recommend it highly to friends traveling to the area. We have rented a summer vacation home every year for over 30 years in various places around the central and southern US, so we know the details that families are looking for and have a lot to compare this property to.You are in the mountains, and it is a beautiful drive up the mountain! The parking area is large (probably comfortably 8 parking spaces) and is on a flat plain area of the mountain so seems very safe. It is only 20-25 minutes to downtown Gatlinburg and Dollywood, so very convenient between the 2 towns either way you go, and not a difficult drive between either, in fact, enjoyable. The decks are very usable and safe as long as an adult stays with the kiddos. The lower level has a convenient outdoor hose so we filled up a little blow up pool for our young kids next to the hot tub that they used daily.The kitchen is well equipped, blender, bullet, skillets, wine glasses, mixer, large fridge, and another small one for drinks on the top level.The bedrooms all have their own mirror and sink, so no need to feel like you are taking up the bathroom for lengths of time to do hair or apply make-up. VERY convenient… the best set up for bedrooms bathrooms I have ever seen in 30 years of vacation rentals.Each floor has its own central air conditioner unit and temperature control, so none of the freezing up if you like to run it a 70-72 that can be a problem in large rentals. Bedroom stayed cool even on the top floor.The pool table is in a huge room, plenty of space to have other things going on around it, like a table for family puzzle, card game, we even set up our giant Jenga game and used it while pool games were going on in the same room.T

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (July 27, 2017):

Thank you for your marvelous review, Francine! As always, we love hearing about great family experiences. We are delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations. You certainly chose the perfect cabin to relax and unwind from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. It truly is a hidden gem! Big Bear Lodge is the perfect cabin for a large family to gather together and create lasting memories. Thank you again for choosing Elk Springs Resort. We hope you will make plans to visit again soon!

Harsh Ramanbhai P.
Perry, GA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed July, 2017

Best

We were 30 people and it had lot of space for all of us .....services was quick ......at night view from balcony was so beautiful ...... especially on full moon night it would be even more better .....we had awesome time up there ....would love to go back

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Resonse (July 20, 2017):

Thank you for your wonderful review, Harsh! We are excited to hear your gathering was a success. Big Bear Lodge is the perfect cabin for a close group of friends or family to gather and make memories that will last for a lifetime. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Map