Southern Philosophy - Gatlinburg Cabin
- Property type: Cabin
- Sleeps: 12
- Bedrooms: 4
- Bathrooms: 4.5
- Smoking: Non-smoking
- Beds: King: 2, Queen: 1, Sofa Bed: 2, Bunk: 1
- Check In Time: 3:00 PM
- Check Out Time: 10:00 AM
- Min. Renter Age: 21+
- No Pets
- Cable Satellite
- Washer Dryer
- Theater Room
- Hot Tub
- Near Dollywood
If you cancel your reservation 15 or more days prior to your arrival date a voucher for a future stay will be issued by host in the amount of the deposit less the reservation fee for use for a future stay within 365 days of the date of cancellation. If you cancel your reservation 14 days or less prior to arrival you will be responsible for the full reservation amount (you will forfeit the full deposit amount and the non-refundable reservation fee, and shall be responsible for the remaining rent amount and all other applicable charges associated with the reservation). Only the Guest named on the Agreement may cancel a reservation and cancellations must be made by phone call to Hosts Office.
Plans can be changed before 14 days prior to the scheduled check in with no penalty. No changes are permitted within 14 days of check in.
We had FUN!
Words cannot describe the beauty of this property. It is like a movie. The location of this property is perfect. It is just far enough away but at the same time just close enough for nightlife. My friends and I enjoyed every minute of our time here. So, the property is pristine! On our second day of our stay the manger called to make sure that we needed anything. It was clean, decorated beautifully and spacious. All the bedrooms where spacious and no one felt as though they were being cheated out of space. The air hockey table and movie theater were a hit! The large spacious living area connected to the dining room that held the beautiful farm style dining table and a wall of floor to ceiling windows and doors allowed us to enjoy each other without having to be in the same room. The rocking chairs on the deck allowed us to enjoy the serenity of the sun setting. It was so beautiful we decided to go out to dinner only one night out of our stay. With a fully equipped kitchen and gas grill, we said why not go to the grocery store that is within 7 miles of the property and enjoy the space around us was our reasoning! We all began talking about bring different groups of family members for vacation or even celebrating holidays! It is just that beautiful. During the day we took the short ride, about 15 minutes, to pottery class one day then the Titanic museum another. Downtown Gatlinburg was great for people watching and eating ice cream. There are numerous restaurants and activities. We didn’t want to leave.Would recommend to others? Yes
We are delighted to hear that you and your friends had an exceptional stay, Sylrethia! You definitely chose a great cabin to relax and create lasting memories together. We certainly agree! Southern Philosophy is a beautiful cabin with top-notch amenities for everyone to enjoy throughout their visit. It is great that you were able to explore some of the area as well. There is truly so much to do in this area, the options in this area are endless! It was our pleasure to provide you with true 5-star service, and we look forward to having you as our guests again soon. Please keep in mind, as repeat visitors you will enjoy 10% off all future bookings. Hurry back, a new adventure awaits!
High on Life; Southern Philosophy is just that!
From our drive in, unlocking the door to locking the door for the last time, Elks Springs Resort was "high" on our list. Beautiful, well-equipped and maintained...our home offered something for everyone. Morning coffee on the spacious porches was the perfect start and finish to each day. Lovely memories.Would recommend to others? Yes
Thank you for your fantastic 5-star review, Kathy! It is delightful to hear that everyone had such a great time. Southern Philosophy is certainly the perfect cabin to relax and create lasting memories together. We hope you will make plans to visit with us for years to come. Please keep in mind, as repeat visitors you will enjoy 10% off all future bookings. Hurry back, new memories are waiting to be made.
Southern Philosophy & Elk Springs Cabin Rentals
Our rental "Southern Pholosophy" was more than expected. This property was well kept and beautiful! The home was clean and inviting! The customer service was excellent! There was a small leak from the ceiling in kitchen when it down poured and property staff was there immediately after calling. I would love to go back and rent this home again! The town itself is very much a tourist attraction. Loved the Alewine Pottery place and will go back to get pottery! We were a family of 12 and we never felt crowded in the home! Thank you!Would recommend to others? Yes
Thank you for your fantastic 5-star review, Gregory! Southern Philosophy is certainly a spectacular cabin that is perfect for a family or large gathering. I know you made several memories that will last a lifetime. We are delighted to hear that you were able to visit some of our local attractions as well. There is certainly a lot to do in this area, and we hope you will make plans to visit again very soon. Please keep in mind, as repeat visitors you will enjoy 10% off all future bookings. Hurry back, new memories are waiting to be made.
Southern Philosophy Reunion Headquarters
We used Southern Philosophy as our family reunion headquarters with families staying in two other nearby cabins. It was very comfortable, clean, and well equipped. Two family groups and grand parents were quite comfortable. Kids used the pool table and air hockey a lot. The hot tub got a lot of use too. The outdoor gazebo is not so easily accessible because you have to walk down a steep grassy slope. It would be nice if you could walk out of the lowest deck to access it. The kitchen is pretty well equipped. There is ample glassware, silverware and dishes although we had to ask for a can opener and the ice maker does not work. I would suggest more kitchen towels and a griddle would be a nice addition. Overall it was a great experience.Would recommend to others? Yes
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, Lorry. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall experience. Thank you for your suggestions. We will forward these to the appropriate departments. We appreciate feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the quality of each stay. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience experienced due to these items and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Not as nice as the pictures on website
Not clean when we arrived.there were dead and half dead bugs and bees on the floor and my wife stopped counting when she reached 40. There were crushed potato chips and peanuts on the floor and crumbs on the kitchen counters. My daughter was uncomfortable letting her 8 month old toddler crawl on the floor. I am sure this was a very nice unit at onetime, but it needs a serious refresh. And, for the cost, we thought more people than starter toilet paper and soap should have been provided.Would recommend to others? No
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, Robert. We are sorry to hear you experienced these issues during your stay. Your feedback has been forwarded to our housekeeping supervisor. We can assure you it will be addressed, as this is not indicative of a typical stay. Each of our cabins are professionally treated by our local pest control company. Even with regularly scheduled treatment, insects can sneak in, especially during our rainy season. We have notified our pest control technician and this cabin has been retreated to ensure this will not occur in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us should this happen again in the future. We provide 24/7 guest assistance to ensure any need that arises can be handled quickly. Please don't suffer, call us. We love assisting our guests! We care about the quality of your stay and will take any measures needed to ensure your comfort. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience experienced and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
It's all good in the woods
I stayed here for a weekend trip with a few friends for my birthday. The cabin was great. We really enjoyed our stay. The hot tub and sauna were great places you relax will definitely look to stay here again.Would recommend to others? Yes
Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your celebration, Charles. Happy Birthday! We are delighted that everyone enjoyed their time at Southern Philosophy. You definitely chose a great location in the Smokies. We hope you will make plans to visit again very soon. Please keep in mind, as repeat customers you will enjoy 10% off all future bookings.
We stay in your area a lot due to my 5 grandsons playing every sport in existence. This was by far, the nicest, cleanest cabin we have stayed in yet. We will definitely be returning.Would recommend to others? Yes
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Southern Philosophy, Robin. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you will visit often. Hurry back, new memories are waiting to be made!
Nothing Southern about Southern Philosophy
My name is William Soto. For the past couple of years, I have been visiting Tennessee with my family for the Christmas Holidays, and I have always booked with your properties. We have stayed in cabins such as Amazing Views Retreat and Wine Down, to name a few. Both of these properties I can say have completely met our expectations. We booked our vacation a year ago with Southern Philosophy because of its great pictures online. However, this was not the case upon arrival. The cabin was in very poor condition. For the money spent on this rental, I can say that this cabin was filthy. I was completely embarrassed bringing my family on this trip after seeing the conditions of this place. After review, we noticed that the pictures advertised on your website are not an accurate representation of the cabin. As a result, we are packing our bags and leaving early tomorrow morning â€“ 2 days ahead of schedule. Aside from having broken furniture (sofa), the rugs are in need of great detail cleaning. I am highlighting below and including pictures of how this cabin was given to us. I would like you to know that this has completely changed my impression of Elk Springs Resort, and I will no longer be visiting your properties again. I anticipate someone to give me a call regarding this situation and I would kindly appreciate a courtesy discount if you would like to keep my continuing business. Not only do I come here yearly, but my family and friends also book cabins of their own thru Elk Springs Resort. Because of this experience, I will honestly advise them to reconsider or halt their bookings.Would recommend to others? No
Thank you for your review, Mr. Soto. We apologize if you feel that Southern Philosophy is not up to our standards. Each of your concerns have been reported to the proper departments and we can assure you they will be addressed. It is regrettable that you felt you needed to leave early. We hope our decision in issuing a voucher for the time not stayed will show that we do care about our guests. We hope you will consider giving us another chance to provide you with a 5-Star vacation in the future.
Fun fall getaway with friends and family
The cabin was very nice and the perfect size for 4 families. We enjoyed being in the cabin and cooking out. I would recommend this cabin and would definitely stay there again.Would recommend to others? Yes
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us, Lynne. We are delighted to hear your stay was exceptional. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you will consider staying with us again during your next visit to Gatlinburg.
Not Private and Noisy
I do not personally recommend staying at a Elk Springs Cabin. This past weekend we rented the Southern Philosophy Cabin at a rate of $361/night. My expectation was to have a peaceful weekend in the mountains, however there was a raging party in the adjacent cabin that lasted until 3:30 AM. After calling the office to complain, no remedy was suggested. This ruined our weekend. In addition, the sound system in the â€œtheatreâ€ room was not working. The carbon monoxide detector went off, upon further inspection the hot water heater was not properly vented and carbon monoxide was entering the cabin. After no help with the party next door the night before we decided to simply turn off the hot water heater ourselves. Renter BEWARE.Would recommend to others? No
We do apologize for the noise late into the evening. When we did our property inspection at midnight before our shift change we did not report any disturbance. Unfortunately there was a group that started making noise around 2 am, which is unique for our property as we do not rent to college kids and normally have very few problems, if any similar to this. It's very rare. Given the risks involved with the carbon monoxide we were surprised that you did not report this to our office as we would have dispatched someone from maintenance immediately given the potential danger. We did a thorough test of all devices using gas on the property and they all were functioning correctly. As a precaution we did replace the CO detectors as well. We also found that you had the theater system on the wrong input and thus there was no sound. Again, given the severity of the gas and the inconvenience of the theater we are surprised you did not call our office. As a note to all guests, we do have maintenance on site and can respond to fix problems very very quickly so they do not disrupt your stay. Problems sometimes do happen such as customer errors with electronics and we are happy to dispatch maintenance to assist. We rarely have any safety issues such as the suspected CO, but if they are reported we investigate these immediately.