Southern Philosophy - Gatlinburg Cabin
- Property type: Cabin
- Sleeps: 12
- Bedrooms: 4
- Bathrooms: 4.5
- Smoking: Non-smoking
- Beds: King: 2, Queen: 1, Sofa Bed: 2, Bunk: 1
- Check In Time: 3:00 PM
- Check Out Time: 10:00 AM
- No Pets
- Cable Satellite
- Washer Dryer
- Theater Room
- Hot Tub
- Resort Pool
- Near Dollywood
If you cancel your reservation 15 or more days prior to your arrival date a voucher for a future stay will be issued by host in the amount of the deposit less the reservation fee for use for a future stay within 365 days of the date of cancellation. If you cancel your reservation 14 days or less prior to arrival you will be responsible for the full reservation amount (you will forfeit the full deposit amount and the non-refundable reservation fee, and shall be responsible for the remaining rent amount and all other applicable charges associated with the reservation). Only the Guest named on the Agreement may cancel a reservation and cancellations must be made by phone call to Hosts Office.
Plans can be changed before 14 days prior to the scheduled check in with no penalty. No changes are permitted within 14 days of check in.
Nothing Southern about Southern Philosophy
My name is William Soto. For the past couple of years, I have been visiting Tennessee with my family for the Christmas Holidays, and I have always booked with your properties. We have stayed in cabins such as Amazing Views Retreat and Wine Down, to name a few. Both of these properties I can say have completely met our expectations. We booked our vacation a year ago with Southern Philosophy because of its great pictures online. However, this was not the case upon arrival. The cabin was in very poor condition. For the money spent on this rental, I can say that this cabin was filthy. I was completely embarrassed bringing my family on this trip after seeing the conditions of this place. After review, we noticed that the pictures advertised on your website are not an accurate representation of the cabin. As a result, we are packing our bags and leaving early tomorrow morning â€“ 2 days ahead of schedule. Aside from having broken furniture (sofa), the rugs are in need of great detail cleaning. I am highlighting below and including pictures of how this cabin was given to us. I would like you to know that this has completely changed my impression of Elk Springs Resort, and I will no longer be visiting your properties again. I anticipate someone to give me a call regarding this situation and I would kindly appreciate a courtesy discount if you would like to keep my continuing business. Not only do I come here yearly, but my family and friends also book cabins of their own thru Elk Springs Resort. Because of this experience, I will honestly advise them to reconsider or halt their bookings.Would recommend to others? No
Thank you for your review, Mr. Soto. We apologize if you feel that Southern Philosophy is not up to our standards. Each of your concerns have been reported to the proper departments and we can assure you they will be addressed. It is regrettable that you felt you needed to leave early. We hope our decision in issuing a voucher for the time not stayed will show that we do care about our guests. We hope you will consider giving us another chance to provide you with a 5-Star vacation in the future.
Fun fall getaway with friends and family
The cabin was very nice and the perfect size for 4 families. We enjoyed being in the cabin and cooking out. I would recommend this cabin and would definitely stay there again.Would recommend to others? Yes
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us, Lynne. We are delighted to hear your stay was exceptional. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you will consider staying with us again during your next visit to Gatlinburg.
Not Private and Noisy
I do not personally recommend staying at a Elk Springs Cabin. This past weekend we rented the Southern Philosophy Cabin at a rate of $361/night. My expectation was to have a peaceful weekend in the mountains, however there was a raging party in the adjacent cabin that lasted until 3:30 AM. After calling the office to complain, no remedy was suggested. This ruined our weekend. In addition, the sound system in the â€œtheatreâ€ room was not working. The carbon monoxide detector went off, upon further inspection the hot water heater was not properly vented and carbon monoxide was entering the cabin. After no help with the party next door the night before we decided to simply turn off the hot water heater ourselves. Renter BEWARE.Would recommend to others? No
We do apologize for the noise late into the evening. When we did our property inspection at midnight before our shift change we did not report any disturbance. Unfortunately there was a group that started making noise around 2 am, which is unique for our property as we do not rent to college kids and normally have very few problems, if any similar to this. It's very rare. Given the risks involved with the carbon monoxide we were surprised that you did not report this to our office as we would have dispatched someone from maintenance immediately given the potential danger. We did a thorough test of all devices using gas on the property and they all were functioning correctly. As a precaution we did replace the CO detectors as well. We also found that you had the theater system on the wrong input and thus there was no sound. Again, given the severity of the gas and the inconvenience of the theater we are surprised you did not call our office. As a note to all guests, we do have maintenance on site and can respond to fix problems very very quickly so they do not disrupt your stay. Problems sometimes do happen such as customer errors with electronics and we are happy to dispatch maintenance to assist. We rarely have any safety issues such as the suspected CO, but if they are reported we investigate these immediately.
Wow...What A Great Stay!
We had a big family vacation and everyone was very pleased with the cabins. They were spacious and the dÃ©cor was fabulous! We had enough to do without even having to go out. From the adults down to the kids we were all very pleased.Would recommend to others? Yes
Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your family vacation, Phyllis. We certainly agree, Southern Philosophy is a great cabin to relax and create lasting memories together. There are plenty of top-notch amenities for the entire family to enjoy! We hope you will consider joining us again during your next visit to The Great Smoky Mountains. Please keep in mind, as repeat customers you will enjoy 10% off all future bookings. Hurry back, new memories are waiting to be made!
Enjoyed the home. A few minor repair/cleaning details items I addressed with Elk Spring staff when I left, but we had a great time. I accidently left an item behind and within one hour of notification, they provided an update the item had been found and arranged shipping for me. Definitely plan to stay again.Would recommend to others? Yes
Thank you for your kind review, Mr. Bailey. We are pleased that you enjoyed your cabin stay and thank you for making us aware of the repairs that need to be addressed. It was our pleasure to assist you with your lost and found item. We look forward to your next visit and please don't forget to mention that you are a returning guest. You will enjoy 10% off all future bookings. Hurry back, new adventure awaits!
My family and I absolutely loved our cabin in elk springs! It was perfectly located in between pigeon forge and downtown gatlinburg. The inside was gorgeous with a beautiful staircase and floor to ceiling fireplace! Large kitchen and outdoor grill had everything we needed we cooked a lot for our family of 10. Very clean. The view was picturesque. The staff was very nice and quick to take care of our needs, I.e. pick up garbage. If I ever need to go to Tennessee again I will definitely stay here.Would recommend to others? Yes
We certainly appreciate your great review, Kelly. As always, we love hearing about great family experiences. It sounds like you chose the perfect cabin for you and your family to relax and create lasting memories together. It would be our pleasure to serve you again in the near future. Please take advantage of your 10% repeat guest discount at the time of your next booking.
Online photos of cabin we're definitely taken when the cabin was brand new, some items (couches, bedding, linens) need updating/replacement. The cabin could also use a proper cleaning job (kitchen cabinets were sticky). Considering that the cabin sleeps 12, it definitely needs a much larger hot tub or a second one installed (a hot tub that holds 4 people is not enough). Theatre room is a room with uncomfortable chairs (not photographed on website) and vintage/mix-matched equipment. The location was pretty and convenient to town. This cabin definitely should be in pristine condition for the price of the rental, unfortunately it was not :(Would recommend to others? No
Thank you for your honest review Alison. We truly value your feedback as it helps to ensure our constant improvement. I have forwarded your concerns to the correct department so they can be properly addressed. We take pride in our cabins and have won awards of excellence for our cleanliness. We do not take these types of complaints lightly and I can assure you our head of housekeeping will look into this. We hope you will consider giving us the opportunity to show you a true 5-Star experience during your next visit.
Southern Philosphy-Dfinitely not Luxury
We arrived at the cabin around 4pm and by 8pm the upstairs was still 82 degrees. The lodge sent someone very quickly to look at it and gave us a big box fan to use. It was so loud you couldn't hear the person across the room from you. By 10pm that night we had to call for clean sheets because two of the beds still had dirty sheets on them. We could handle the loud fan but the dirty sheets pushed our limits. I guess when you pay what we did you expect the place to be clean. The main living room couch was worn and ripped and the ice maker stayed clogged up so we had to buy ice daily not to mention 2 extra fans to keep the cabin cool. I do have to say whenever we called the office for something the crew was very nice and helpful and would call us back to check on us. Just very disappointed in the condition of the cabin, it makes me wonder if the owners know what condition it is in.Would recommend to others? No
We appreciate your honest reivew, Lori. We truly value your feedback as it helps us to improve. We can assure you, our guests are our number one priority. We certainly understand that these items were an inconvenience. I have forwarded the issues you reported regarding cleanliness and the overall condition over to the proper department so they can be addressed. We truly appreciate you bringing these to our attention. We are very sorry for the problems you experienced during your visit and can assure you this is not up to our standard. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Bachelorette Party in Gatlinburg
Overall, our stay was wonderful! The cabin was clean and exactly what we needed. The door code wasn't working initially, and Elk Springs staff responded promptly to make sure we got in. We also had some issues with the air conditioning. Maintenance responded quickly. They were unable to fix it due to needing to order specific parts, but gave us window a/c units and large fans so we were comfortable. The location is perfect- far enough removed to experience nature, but close to downtown. We are already looking at dates to come back and stay at Elk Springs Resort.Would recommend to others? Yes
Thank you for allowing us to be a part of such a memorable celebration, Dawn! We are excited to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for reaching out to us when you discovered the issue with the code and the air conditioning. We provide 24/7 guest assistance to ensure that any need that arises can be handled quickly. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience experienced due to these issues and thank you for your patience and understanding while they were being resolved. We are happy to report the air conditioning system has been fully repaired. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you will consider making us a part of a new tradition when looking for that memorable get-away.
NOT THE BEST
FIRST WHEN WE ARRIVE AT THE CABIN THERE WAS CRUMBLE LIKE DUST ALL OVER THE COUNTER TOPS IN THE KITCHEN. THEN LATER ON IN MASTER BEDROOM WE PULL BACK THE COMFORTER AND IT WAS DIRTY. THEN LATER ON WE REALIZE THE AIR WAS NOT WORKING IN THE MASTER BEDROOM, NEITHER NIGHT. SO I GUEST THE CABIN HAS TERMITES. EVERYDAY WE WERE CLEANING THE COUNTER TOPS OVER FROM THAT DUST.Would recommend to others? No
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Cheryl. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. Thank you for contacting us when you discovered the issues at the cabin. We are happy to see that a fresh comforter was sent out. Each of our cabins are professionally treated by our local pest control company. We did send the pest control technician to the cabin after your departure. He did not find any sign of termites, however, he found carpenter ants in the area above the counter. This was immediately treated and no further signs of any insects have been reported at the cabin. We try our best to ensure that all of our cabins are pest free. As we state in all of the information that is sent to our guests, we are in the mountains and insects will sneak into the cabins from time to time. We did send our maintenance technician out to correct the issue with the bedroom AC. Although he thought the issue was corrected, it did continue to have problems in that area throughout the stay. We appreciate you working with us on a resolution and are glad to see that a refund was issued due to the issue with the bedroom AC. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience experienced and hope you were able to enjoy your time spent in Gatlinburg in light of these issues.