Moonshiners View - Gatlinburg Cabin

View, Theater Room, Game Room - Fantastic Location
Gatlinburg, TN, US
4.0 (33 Reviews)
Cabin
Sleeps 6
2 Bedrooms
2 Baths
No Pets
You won’t be charged yet.

The Cabin

  • Property type: Cabin
  • Sleeps: 6
  • Bedrooms: 2
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Smoking: Non-smoking
  • Beds: King: 2, Sofa Bed: 1
  • Check In Time: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out Time: 10:00 AM
  • Min Renter Age: 21+
  • No Pets

Description

Gather with your friends or family for a weekend or how about a full week getaway in Gatlinburg. You may not even want to leave the cabin with amenities including a 9 foot theater screen and projector, pool table, hot tub, high speed wireless internet and luxury furniture. If you do choose to leave, you are just 8 minutes to downtown Gatlinburg and 2 minutes to the Arts and Crafts Community.

The cabin features 2 full bedrooms and 2 full baths, fully equipped kitchen, gas grill and dining area. Gather around the fireplace or sit under one of the covered decks on a porch rocker. Plenty of flat parking. Washer and Dryer included for extended stays.

Bedroom and Sleeping Arrangements:

Lower Level - Bedroom 1: Queen Bed - Sleeps 2

Lower Level - Game Room: Futon - Sleeps 2

Upper Level - Bedroom 2: King Bed - Sleeps 2

Amenities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Internet Access
  • Washer Dryer

Location

Note: Travel times may vary based on season and area occupancy.

Availability

Host
Cancellation Policy

If you cancel your reservation 15 or more days prior to your arrival date a voucher for a future stay will be issued by host in the amount of the deposit less the reservation fee for use for a future stay within 365 days of the date of cancellation. If you cancel your reservation 14 days or less prior to arrival you will be responsible for the full reservation amount (you will forfeit the full deposit amount and the non-refundable reservation fee, and shall be responsible for the remaining rent amount and all other applicable charges associated with the reservation). Only the Guest named on the Agreement may cancel a reservation and cancellations must be made by phone call to Hosts Office.

Plans can be changed before 14 days prior to the scheduled check in with no penalty. No changes are permitted within 14 days of check in.

Traveler Reviews

33 Reviews
4.0 out of 5
Summary
5
61%
4
19%
3
7%
2
10%
1
7%
Delaware, OH
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
1 out of 5
Reviewed August, 2019

Horrible

Terrible- couldn’t even stay there. Had to book a hotel. Completely filthy

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (August 05, 2019):

Thank you for your review, Kathryn. While we do appreciate all feedback, this is definitely very worrisome to us, as we did not get any reports from you while you were staying in the cabin. We hold ourselves to a high standard of excellence with the upkeeps and cleanliness of each of our rental properties. To hear that the cabin was filthy is alarming, and I can assure you we will look into this. However, please do not hesitate to contact us during your stay if you find anything that is not up to par. We offer 24/7 staff assistance, and we want nothing more than our guests to feel as though they have a home away from home while staying with us

Wayne H.
St Charles, IL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
2 out of 5
Reviewed August, 2018

Disappointed

I'm going to post a more thourough review on Trip Advisor but we were disappointed in this cabin. The floors were dirty, the deck needed to be swept, the TV in the master bedroom is tiny and the beds were very uncomfortable and wrapped in plastic, there was a remote control in the basement that had a screw sticking out of the back that my daughter got injured on. We ended up leaving a day early because we were disappointed and my daughter could not do a lot of the activities because her hand was hurt. We sent an e-mail telling the staff we were leaving early and about the screw and didn't even get an apology. Also, the layout of the cabin is ridiculous and the bathroom upstairs is a joke. The driveway is very difficult to get up and down as well. I pulled out one of the dresser drawers in the master bedroom to get a blanket and the whole drawer fell out because the dresser was not put together properly and the drawers were not on tracks. The positives are the location is nice and the cabin has a nice game room and movie theater screen.

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (August 14, 2018):

We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your recent stay at this cabin. We welcome the opportunity to remedy any issues you may encounter during your stay. We apologize for the oversight in not responding to your email and hope your daughter is ok. In spite of all the negativity you reported with this cabin, we do manage many others in Gatlinburg and the surrounding areas and we sincerely hope you will consider a future stay with us in a cabin more suited to your liking.

Christopher M.
Ada, OK
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed July, 2019

Quiet place

Quiet, off the beating path. The theater area was nice and utilized almost every night. Amenities were a perfect fit. Has a bedroom downstairs and a futon bed if it is needed. King in the loft with an awesome view of the Smoky’s in the morning. Perfect grilling deck. The driveway is tricky and steep. The driveway design makes it difficult to get into the house and is slick if it rains.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (July 15, 2019):

Thank you for your kind review, Christopher. We are pleased to hear that you had such a great time at Moonshiners View. You definitely chose a great cabin to relax in and enjoy some time away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We are sorry that that driveway and parking was not to your liking at this cabin. We have several cabins to choose from and I am sure one of our experienced Reservation Specialist will be happy to help you find the perfect cabin for your next booking. We encourage guests to book direct and save up to 15% on your booking.

Canton, MS
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed June, 2019

Much Needed Rest

Quiet and serene. The cabin is well maintained and located in a peaceful setting. Please note the driveway is steep. It is nestled well off the beaten path.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (June 19, 2019):

Thank you for your kind review, Julie! We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Although the drive to this cabin is easily navigated, the driveway is steep. The views surrounding this cabin certainly make a momentary challenge worth the effort. Often times, to get the best views, there may be steep roads or driveways. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Remember, as a repeat visitor you will save 10% on future stays. Thank you!

Marco Island, FL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed June, 2018

Beautiful Cabin

The cabin was beautiful. Pride of ownership was evident. Hot tub and view were perfect. We also enjoyed the projection movie screen and theater chairs. The view from the master bedroom was awesome. The only complaint is something Elk Springs couldn’t control and that was construction from neighboring properties. It gets harder and harder to “get away from it all”.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (June 25, 2018):

Thank you for your wonderful review, Kathleen. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent cabin stay. Moonshiners View is certainly a great cabin to enjoy the beautiful mountain area. We are very sorry if the construction caused a hindrance during your stay. You are correct, unfortunately, we do not have control over this. We hope that you will make plans to stay with us again in the future. Please keep in mind, as repeat visitors you will enjoy 10% off all future bookings.

Bruce S.
Howell, MI
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
2 out of 5
Reviewed November, 2019

Disappointing for Elk Springs

First let me say that Elk Springs is a great place to rent a cabin from, just not this cabin. We have rented many cabins in the Smokies and a few from Elk Springs and consider Elk Springs our go to place to rent but we had issues from the first moment we arrived at this cabin. The driveway(if you can call it that) and parking spot are not just terrible but dangerous. Short and very, very steep. If you try and back in there is the possibility of going thru the door of the cabin. If you go in head first it is almost impossible to turn around at the bottom. When you leave it is so steep at the road there is no way you can see if anyone is coming. As I have said have rented many cabins in the smokies so I am used to steep and narrow driveways but I would not rent this cabin just for this reason. Butit continued.the next morning we woke up with no hot water. Called Elk Springs and they said no one was in yet and they would send someone over when they got there. Now someone did show up and fix the issue quickly but we lost a couple of hours waiting. This would be bad enough if we did not wake up on our last morning there to find we had no hot water again. We could not wait this time as we needed to head home. Cabin was cold, and would really not warm up. The bottom level where pool table was located was extremely cold. In fact it must be known to Elk Springs as when the gentlemen showed up to fix the hot water issue he said it was time to go into the ice box and zipped up his jacket before heading down. Jets in hot tub were poor,...etc. Cabin was clean except for the bugs that wanted in but that happens this time of year. Good price, nice rental company, bad cabin.

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (November 27, 2019):

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Bruce. It is regrettable to hear your were less than satisfied with your stay. Unfortunately, the driveways, and roads in our are are challenging to navigate. However, in our area, you will need to drive on mountainous roads to get to the cabins with the spectacular views. We sincerely apologize for hot water issue while you were staying with us. We did come twice and the breaker was tripped both times. After you departed we wanted to be sure we were remedying the issue for good. So, we did return and rechecked everything so this would not happen again. It is also, unfortunate the lower level was so cold for you. If our customer service team was aware we would have been sure to have our technicians figure the reason why. Again, we sincerely apologize for any issues that occurred and hope this experience does not deter you from visiting us again.

Canastota, NY
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed August, 2018

Would Stay Again

The cabin was lovely and very cleanWe had some issues in the basement with fleas but the company was understanding and helpful during the situation. The driveway was very steep and I can't imagine a car being able to use the driveway.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (August 31, 2018):

Laura, thank you for your feedback. We truly appreciate your business. We are so very sorry about the fleas that were brought in by a pet from a previous guest. This cabin is not pet friendly and they never should have done that. We did get the cabin treated right away and sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with this issue. We agree that the driveway is steep and unfortunately we have no way to improve it being the cabin sits on top of a mountain. We are fortunate in the fact that it is on a dead end road and you can park alongside the road if you feel unable to navigate the driveway. We hope you will consider a future stay with us and welcome the opportunity to assist you in finding a cabin more suited to your liking.

Williamston, NC
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed September, 2017

Wonderful Labor Day Weekend Stay!

My family had a wonderful time & we were very impressed by the cleanliness and beautiful views. The kids loved their own space downstairs!Regarding the rental company, I arrived at 10:30 p.m. and the AC was not cooling so I called. Elk Springs Resort Cabin Rentals sent a repairman out immediately that night and we were cool within a couple of hours. Awesome customer service!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (September 08, 2017):

Thank you for your wonderful review, Leslie! We are pleased that you and your children has such a great experience. We certainly apologize that the AC was not running properly on your arrival but we are glad to hear your experienced maintenance men were able to address this in a timely manner. We hope you will visit us again during your next trip to The Great Smoky Mountains!

Matthew W.
Semmes, AL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed November, 2019

Great cabin in great location!

Our stay in Moonshiners View was perfect! The cabin is in a great location, with easy access to both Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. We look forward to staying again real soon!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (November 20, 2019):

It is delightful that you enjoyed your recent cabin stay! We enjoyed having you and look forward to working with you again in the future. Remember, as a repeat visitor you will save 10% on future stays. Thank you!

Donald W.
Brookston, IN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
2 out of 5
Reviewed January, 2020

Moonshine with a BAD drive and smell!!!

How does a Normal person park in the drive ? It’s impossible we got stuck multiple times before we switched vehicles with a family member the incline is impossible to get up and down with any moisture on concrete and the drop will rear off bottom of your car The cabin is beautiful other than the smell of sewer throughout the place we called maintenance and was very prompt getting there but told us it was due to rain the smell was coming from shower drain and after putting a wet towel over it we could tolerate it but we made the most of it and enjoyed what we could but if you have kids staying with you you can’t spell welcome WELCUM it’s not appropriate !!!

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (January 12, 2020):

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Donald. It is unfortunate to hear of the issues you had while staying with us. We have reviewed where maintenance did come by and confirmed there was not an issue with the septic and we can ensure you we will have a technician recheck the cabin. The roads going to this cabin can be challenging, however, the views you will experience walking into this cabin are certainly well worth any challenge experienced. In our area, you will need to drive on mountainous roads to get to the cabins with the spectacular views. We apologize if you felt the welcome sign was inappropriate, however if you take notice in our area there a numerous signs spelled that way. It is meant to be funny and a "Tennessee" way of spelling.We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience experienced and hope you enjoyed your time spent in our area.