Cajun Hideaway - Gatlinburg Cabin

Secluded 2 Bedroom Cabin With Fabulous Views Of The Great Smoky Mountains
Gatlinburg, TN, US
4.5 (165 Reviews)
Cabin
Sleeps 6
2 Bedrooms
2.5 Baths
WiFi
No Pets
You won’t be charged yet.

The Cabin

  • Property type: Cabin
  • Sleeps: 6
  • Bedrooms: 2
  • Bathrooms: 2.5
  • Smoking: Non-smoking
  • Beds: King: 1, Queen: 1, Sofa Bed: 1
  • Check In Time: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out Time: 10:00 AM
  • Min Renter Age: 21+
  • No Pets

Description

This cabin is located just a short 12 minute and convenient drive from Elk Springs Resort. Relax in your own private hot tub while soaking in beautiful views of the great smoky mountains. You'll catch cabin fever while enjoying the many amenities inlcuding a pool table, 4 TV's, 4 DVD players, FREE wireless internet, gas grill and great views through the glass framing the high vaulted ceilings of the great room and loft. The Great Room features a 55" TV with Blu Ray. All linens and towels as well as paper products come standard in all our cabins and this unit includes a washer and dryer for your convenience.

Bedroom and Sleeping Arrangements:

Lower Level - Bedroom 1: King Bed - Sleeps 2

Lower Level - Bedroom 2: Queen Bed - Sleeps 2

Upper Level - Loft: Queen Sleeper - Sleeps 2

Amenities

  • DVD Player
  • Cable Satellite
  • Air Conditioning
  • Washer Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet Access
  • Dishwasher
  • Mountain View
  • Wifi
  • Grill
  • Hot Tub
  • Nearby Grocery

Location

Note: Travel times may vary based on season and area occupancy.

Availability

Host
Policies

Host Cancellation Policy

If you cancel your reservation 15 or more days prior to your arrival date a voucher for a future stay will be issued by host in the amount of the deposit less the reservation fee for use for a future stay within 365 days of the date of cancellation. If you cancel your reservation 14 days or less prior to arrival you will be responsible for the full reservation amount (you will forfeit the full deposit amount and the non-refundable reservation fee, and shall be responsible for the remaining rent amount and all other applicable charges associated with the reservation). Only the Guest named on the Agreement may cancel a reservation and cancellations must be made by phone call to Hosts Office.

Plans can be changed before 14 days prior to the scheduled check in with no penalty. No changes are permitted within 14 days of check in.

SmokyMountains.com Service Fee Cancellation Policy

If you choose to cancel or not use your reservation, the SmokyMountains.com Service Fee is always non-refundable.

Traveler Reviews

165 Reviews
4.5 out of 5
Summary
5
80%
4
14%
3
3%
2
4%
1
1%
Alpharetta, GA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed September, 2012

Awesome experience, good views

We enjoyed our stay at this cabin - very clean, practical. We had fun!!!!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Eric C.
New Palestine, IN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed June, 2012

Great Cabin

Our family spent 7 nights at the Cajun Hideaway and had a wonderful time. The cabin had the best ameneties of any cabin we've stayed at, along with a perfect location. The view from the upper deck was beautiful. The only thing we noticed was that the cabin needed to be dusted. Dust on fixtures and ceiling fans was noticable. We will definately stay at the "Cajun Hideaway again.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Leonardo C.
Boynton Beach, FL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed January, 2020

Great, but it could be bettrer

Overall we had a great experience, however the cleaning could be better, the bathrooms were well cleaned (which is the most important), but there were a lot dirty spots like windows (accumulating bugs) and dust in many places.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (January 10, 2020):

Thank you for sharing your experience, Leonardo. We are glad to know you enjoyed your time spent with us. Thank you for your feedback on the cleanliness. We can ensure you we will make our housekeeping staff aware. We hope you will make plans to stay with Elk Springs again on your next trip to The Great Smoky Mountains.

Christina K.
Mishawaka, IN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed February, 2015

Pretty secluded and great view - just what we had asked for

We had a wonderful time staying in Cajun Hideaway. This was our second time staying with Elk Springs. This cabin is farther out from town, but feels much more secluded than being right on the resort, and the views were amazing even on the dreariest of days - one day we were able to watch the snow accumulating on the mountaintops across the way. There are still a couple of cabins in site, but situated so you don't feel like you are on top of one another. I would agree with previous reviews; if you have never been there, it is definitely best to arrive in the daylight. The surround sound system was a nice touch. The only two negatives were that the hot tub is down on the lower floor and on the opposite end of the deck from the door (only a slight inconvenience making that walk (run) when it was 20 degrees outside). We wished there was a door closer to the grill. That was just being picky though and it was colder when we stayed. Probably wouldn't have thought much about it if we had stayed in the warmer months. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Brentwood, TN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
2 out of 5
Reviewed March, 2020

Unprofessional handling of issues

The cabin was great until we had issues with a rodent in the vent right above the master bedroom. Upon telling customer service of the issue, we agreed that an exterminator would not be sent out so our stay would not be impeded. For some reason, the exterminator was still sent out during our stay and blamed the company for giving the wrong service date. He came into our cabin to apply his treatment which was awkward and ruined our comfort in the cabin. That night the rodent made even more noise than before and ruined our sleep. The customer service reps kept saying I’d hear from management. Never did. I gave them plenty of time to respond due to craziness of Covid-19 but they refuse to acknowledge the issue entirely. After several attempts to allow management to address the issue, they never did. No compensation, no sincere apology, and no effective attention to issues their customers have. It is a shame that such a nice cabin is run by such management.

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (March 25, 2020):

Thank you, Huner, for sharing your experience with us. It is regrettable to know of your disappointment with our customer service. We sincerely apologize for any issue during your stay. We certainly do not want to make you feel unforcomfortable or awkward while you are staying with us. You did report the issue the day before your departure. We do understand you did not want anyone out, however if we are not allowed to rememedy the problem, we cannot issue compensation for it. Since we were only aware of it shortly before you were leaving we could not comfirm if we resolved it. Again, we sincerely apologize and hope you enjoyed your stay in our area.

Timothy H.
Slidell, LA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed July, 2013

A very comfortable relaxing vacation

It was a wonderful relaxing experience. Loved the view. We did want to be secluded, but it was a little far from pigeon forge. Overall it was a great vacation.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Daryle F.
Conyers, GA
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed October, 2018

Cajun hideaway autumn 2018

Cabin was very clean and in excellent condition. Loved the large kitchen. The view of the mountains was great, but there is road noise while on the deck. Other cabins are close by. We enjoyed the hot tub, but wished the jets had been stronger. Had fun shooting pool while watching the game. Recommended.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (November 01, 2018):

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, Daryle. We are happy you enjoyed your overall stay with us. The area this cabin is located in is a secondary route coming into town. We are getting more visitors than usual, as this is our busiest month due to the exceptional fall colors so many people are coming to enjoy. This does create more traffic and unfortunately this can be heard in areas that you usually would only hear the peaceful sounds of nature. It is not advertised as being secluded, there are quite a few cabins located throughout this area. Please contact us when you are ready to start planning your next get-away. We have a great selection of cabins that may be in a more ideal location for your next visit. One of our experienced Sales Representatives will be happy to assist you in finding a cabin that will not only meet, but exceed, your expectations. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Christina M.
Paragon, IN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed March, 2020

Christina Murphy

Great experience

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (March 23, 2020):

We are delighted you enjoyed your recent cabin stay with us, Christina. We hope to see you again here in the Great Smoky Mountains.

Mt. Prospect, IL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed October, 2013

Anniversary Getaway

I would highly recommend a getaway in the Cajun Hideaway. Look forward to coming back soon with the family.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Anna T.
Northport , AL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed November, 2017

Cajun Hideaway

We had a wonderful time at The Cajun Hideaway. The views are beautiful and the cabin is somewhat secluded, so that was nice. However , the info says that the cabin sleeps six. There is a pullout couch in the loft, but it the mattress was very thin and uncomfortable. My oldest son ended up sleeping in the couch downstairs. I cannot imagine one person sleeping upstairs much less 2. Otherwise the cabin was well equipped and we had a wonderful time!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (November 23, 2017):

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Mark. We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve the quality of each stay. We are happy you enjoyed your stay, however, disheartened you experienced this issue. We will share your feedback with the appropriate department to see what improvements can be made for future guests. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience experienced and hope you will consider staying with us again during your next visit to Gatlinburg.